Liu Baoying, from an unexperienced beginner to a reliable caretaker

The story of caring for the elderly

 

In 2004, Liu Baoying started her job as a caretaker at He Tong nursing home.

It was never an easy job to give care to the elderly. Some of them are with limited mobility or disability and need the caretaker to lift them up and move them around. Some of them have tempers and behave like a child. Liu Baoying remembers a granny who would run to the yard whenever she was unhappy and refused to come back for the meal when she just arrived the nursing home. At first, Liu Baoying blamed herself for not being strong enough to lift them up, or not being able to calm them down when they are in bad mood.

After HSBC's nursing training, Liu Baoying learned a systematic way of nursing. With a strong sense of responsibility and love, she has developed a closer bond with the elderlies as she improves her nursing skills day by day. Now she would know exactly what they need the moment she looks at them in the eyes, or sees their facial expressions.

Today, Liu Baoying has become the beloved "Director Liu" to the elderlies with the reputation of "whatever you need, Director Liu can help you". The nursing home has become Director Liu’s second home as she went from a newbie to a professional caretaker. There are many other caretakers like her out there, who devote themselves to the elderly care business for decades. They are the first batch of elderly care industry leaders that HSBC has cultivated for China.

As an unprecedentedly aging society, elderly care industry in China is not a "simple" thing. The aging population is posing huge challenges for the economic structure and social security. HSBC has been working with the government and public welfare organisations since 1997 to promote the rise and development of the elderly care industry. We began with providing support to over 1,000 elderly care institutions serving nearly a million disabled and demented elderlies, and later explored different approaches to urban and rural community style elderly care homes to serve more elderly people. This is one of the most long-lasting and successful public welfare undertakings of HSBC.

Furthermore, HSBC has also trained more than 1,100 elderly care home directors and 1,000 elderly caretakers, held 14 National Elderly Care Forum, and funded the development of ‘China’s Long-Term Care Industry Service Assessment Standards’. In the future, HSBC will continue our efforts in bringing more benefit to the elderly and helping spread the love further.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

刘宝英,从护理新手到老人的贴心人

助老护理故事

 

 

2004年,刘宝英与鹤童结缘,成为了一名养老院护理员。

护理员的工作并不容易。行动不便或失能失智老人需要护理员将其抱起移动,她曾因手臂力量不足抱不动老人而自责。有时也会遇到脾气大的“老小孩”。 一位奶奶刚来时一不开心就往院子里跑,到了饭点也不肯回,刘宝英只能干着急。

经过汇丰的护工培训,刘宝英学习到了系统的护理知识,掌握了护理技能。凭着责任心和爱心,刘宝英的护理技能越来越娴熟,和老人们的关系也越发融洽。现在老人的一个眼神,一点点面部变化,她就知道他们在想什么。

如今的刘宝英是老人们交口称赞的“刘院长”: “有需要找院长,她一定能帮你解决。”从一张白纸变成优秀的专业护理员,从新手到老人的“贴心人”,刘院长早已把养老院当作自己的家了。像她这样十几年如一日地站在养老事业上的人还有很多,他们都是汇丰为中国培育的第一代养老人才的代表。

中国的养老行业并不“简单”,前所未有的老龄社会将给经济结构和社会保障带来巨大挑战。汇丰自1997年起与政府和公益组织一起探索,大力推动养老行业的兴起和发展。从支持1000多家养老机构成长壮大,服务上百万失能失智老人开始,到探索多样性的城市和社区养老模式,服务更广大的老年人群。这是汇丰坚持最久,也最有成就的公益事业之一。

同时,汇丰还累计培训了1100余名院长和1000余名专业护理人员,举办了十四届全国老人院院长论坛,资助编写了“中国长期照护行业服务评鉴标准”。未来汇丰将继续努力为天下老人谋福利,让爱传递得更远。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。