Yang Zhi, from a vulnerable child to an independent young adult

Growing up at the child protection centre

 

“I used to be living on the street. People belittled me, despised me and they’d stand there watching when I was beaten up by bad guys.” Yang Zhi was once a helpless child sent to child protection centre by the police. There he was taught to read and write by the staff, and received education and professional training. He is tremendously grateful to the staff who helped him at the child protection centre ‘I will never forget them’.

In 2013, Yang Zhi obtained forklift license and made a living. He is now an independent young man who maintains a stable life, and is praised as a “responsible man”. He often returns to the child protection centre to visit those who looked after him and meet the newly arrived children.

Childcare is the responsibility of the whole society. In 2012, HSBC funded the China Social Welfare Foundation to carry out the "innovative project for the development and protection of street children" that aims to provide rehabilitation, education, training and employment opportunities for children in temporary custody in children protection centres. Many vulnerable children like Yang Zhi have become self-dependent young men through receiving professional skill training.

Over the past three decades, HSBC has always supported children’s welfare in China. In addition to helping vulnerable children, HSBC has also been focusing on children's mental health and skill training for teenagers, and funded over 100 programmes that benefit more than 500,000 children in 13 provinces. It is HSBC’s hope to help children build self-confidence and self-dependence. In the future, HSBC will continue to unite all parties to create a better life for children in China.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

“我以前一直流浪。别人都在贬低我,看扁我,看我在被那些坏人打。” 曾经的杨志是一个无依无靠的流浪儿,被派出所送去了救助站。在那里,叔叔阿姨们教他写字、带他上课,让他获得了接受教育和参加职业培训的机会。对此他十分感激:“我知道我永远都不会忘记他们。”

2013年,杨志考取了叉车驾驶证,成长为一名自立自强的青年。如今的他有着稳定的工作、被夸赞是“有担当”的男子汉。他常常返回救助中心,看望以前照顾过他的叔叔阿姨和新来的孩子们。

关爱儿童是全社会的责任。汇丰于2012年资助中国社会福利基金会开展了“流浪儿童发展与保护创新项目”,为在未成年人保护中心、处于临时监护状态的流浪儿童提供康复、教育、培训和就业的机会。杨志是该项目众多受益人中的一位,还有更多的流浪儿童通过职业技能培训成功就业,成为自立于社会的青年。

30年来,汇丰一直支持着中国的儿童福利事业,除困境儿童外,还关注儿童心理健康和青少年技能培训,资助超过100个项目,让13省超50万儿童直接受益。通过这些项目,汇丰帮助孩子们树立自信心,学习自立的能力。未来,汇丰将继续携手各方力量不懈努力,为中国的孩子们创造更加幸福的生活。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。