Faster Growth of ASEAN’s New Economy amid the Pandemic, A 4 trillion USD Consumer Market for Chinese Companies

Despite the unprecedented challenges posed by the COVID-19 outbreak to the global economy, new economy sectors have grown even faster amid the pandemic.

Article reposted from 21CBN
Wechat account

Despite the unprecedented challenges posed by the COVID-19 outbreak to the global economy, new economy sectors have grown even faster amid the pandemic. Because of the pandemic, we are living and working with increased reliance on digital businesses such as telecommuting and online shopping, a trend that has accelerated in ASEAN in particular.

Online streaming in Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam during the "stay home" period surged by 60% compared to the pre-COVID level. Average mobile phone screen time in these countries was 4.2 hours per day, 1.2 times the level of global average, and that number was 5 hours for young people, according to a report released by the World Economic Forum (WEF) in June. Moreover, according to the latest Southeast Asia New Economy Report released by Facebook and Bain, online fresh food sales rose by 300%-400% during the pandemic, more than 80% of the consumers surveyed said they would continue to buy fresh food online even after the pandemic. 85% of the consumers surveyed said they tried new apps during the pandemic, many for the first time.

"The emergence of novel business formats in the new economy sector has accelerated business model transfor-mation and renovation during the pandemic, and we are increasingly using digital technology to gain access to more business opportunities including e-commerce, e-payments and online healthcare. At the end of 2019, the number of internet users in six ASEAN countries increased from 260 million in 2015 to 360 million. It is critical for us to fully capitalize on demographic dividends of ASEAN's internet population." said Wenjie Zhang, EVP and Co-head of Global Banking, HSBC China, during the session themed "Viewpoint: ASEAN’s New Economy" as part of 2020 HSBC China ASEAN Corridor Webinar Series held recently.

A Dual Push for Development of the New Economy by Consumers and Governments

According to WEF’s forecast, ASEAN will become the world’s fourth largest economy in the coming decade, with 70 per cent of its population joining the middle class and a consumer market worth US$4 trillion. Among that, the new economy will be a major theme. According to a joint report by Temasek and Google, among others, from 2015 to 2019, the new economy of six ASEAN countries (Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, Singapore and Malaysia) grew at a compound annual growth rate of 33%, with a total GMV (gross merchandise value) of US$32 billion in 2015 and a milestone that topped an unprecedented US$100 billion in 2019, accounting for 3.7% of the total GDP. The number is projected to rise substantially to US$300 billion by 2025, accounting for 8.5% of the total GDP.

"70% of ASEAN's population will become middle-class by 2030, which means we'll see a massive increase in the purchasing power of consumers. The growth rate of consumer spending is expected to return to 5% next year. The use of technology is becoming more and more widespread in the region, not only by business organisations but also by consumers, young and old. They are already making online purchases. So e-commerce stands to ben-efit." said Dato’ Wan Peng Ng, COO of Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation, during the webinar. ASEAN’s new economy is undoubtedly of immense potential. Local governments are embracing digital transformation by launching enabling policies.

On the regional level, the ASEAN Smart Cities Network was adopted at the end of 2018, with 26 member cities from the region. The network is mainly designed to create better living conditions for citizens of its member cit-ies and enable regional connectivity by leveraging digital and other technologies.

"Now the 26 leading ASEAN cities work together through the ASEAN Smart Cities Network to develop a series of demonstrators to adopt new technologies and to engage citizens. Each of the 26 cities within the network is un-dertaking pilot exercises in relation to citizen information, payment systems, and inter-operability. They are also developing broadly-based connected buildings and connected transport to contribute to IOT type outcomes." said Greg Clark, Global Head, Future Cities & New Industries, HSBC.

For example, the Vietnamese government just announced in June the National Digital Transformation Plan by 2025 and Directions for Development by 2030, which aims to accelerate the development of the country's digital government, new economy and digital society, while building globally competitive companies in the digital space. Vietnam plans to increase the weight of its new economy sector in the country's GDP to 20% by 2025 and to realize universal access to fibre-optic broadband and the 5G mobile network by 2030 when over 80% of its population will have e-payment accounts.

In addition, Thailand is actively pursuing the "Thailand 4.0" strategy, which is designed to build a "smart nation" through economic transformation with technologies such as 5G. In an interview in late May, Mr. Arthayudh Sris-amoot, Thailand's ambassador to China, said that Thailand expects to launch 5G services by the end of this year and will become the first ASEAN country to offer 5G commercial services.

"Governments in ASEAN are pushing for digital solutions, especially fintech, because they want to see more de-velopment in the banking and insurance sectors, to satisfy needs of the dispersed farming community in ASEAN. Digital technology has a bright future in the region, and this is also driven by both governments and consumers." said Chris Humphrey, Executive Director, EU-ASEAN Business Council.

Indonesia and Vietnam, Front Runners in ASEAN’s New Economy

The top six economies of the ten ASEAN countries are Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, Singapore and Malaysia. They have a combined population of the 570 million, making them not only the engine of the ASEAN economy but also a hotspot where the new economy is most vibrant. In 2015, there were only 49 million e-commerce users in the six ASEAN countries, and by 2019 that number rose dramatically to 150 million.

Of the six countries, the most promising one is Indonesia, ASEAN's most populous country with a total popula-tion of nearly 270 million and an Internet user base surging from 92 million in 2015 to 152 million in 2019. Over the same period, its new economy grew at an average annual rate of 49% and was valued at US$40 billion in 2019. The joint report by Temasek and Google, among others, expects Indonesia's new economy to surpass US$130 billion by 2025. It is particularly strong in e-commerce and online car-hailing.

"Since 2015, GMV growth of the overall Indonesian market is 500% in terms of e-commerce sectors. And in 2019, e-commerce accounted for 15% of FDI in Indonesia. For 2025, according to World Bank's forecasts, there will be US$53 billion in terms of e-commerce GMV growth in Indonesia. JD has been investing in Indonesia for many years. The country’s population and internet penetration make its digital economy a very compelling case. The consumers also have great purchasing power. Its growth potential is just like what China was like 20 years ago." said Andrew You, Director, INACHAMHK; Board Member IDHKBA, Former Head of B2B Solutions, Corporate Business Development, and Government Affairs, JD.ID.

According to Barnaby Robson, Partner Deal Advisory, KPMG Hong Kong, among all markets in ASEAN, Indonesia is 2-4 years ahead of others in the space of digital economy where e-commerce, e-payments and on-demand ser-vices are well-developed and widely used.

The second fastest growing market in terms of digital economy after Indonesia is Vietnam. According to the joint report by Temasek and Google, among others, Vietnam's digital economy has been growing at an annual growth rate of 38% over the past four years and was valued at US$12 billion in 2019. It is expected to reach US$43 bil-lion by 2025. The other four ASEAN-6 countries, namely Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore and the Philippines, are also growing fast in the digital space with annual growth rates of 20-30% since 2015.

On the whole, the biggest highlight of ASEAN's new economy is e-commerce in terms of both size and pace. Ac-cording to the said report, in 2019 the e-commerce GMV of the six ASEAN countries reached US$38 billion and is expected to skyrocket to US$153 billion by 2025.

In addition, ASEAN’s online car-hailing has been booming with distinctive features. The region’s online car-hailing platform was first launched to provide mobility services and was then extended to provide delivery and financial services, with the aim of creating so-called "super apps". The GMV of the online car-hailing platform across the six ASEAN countries has grown from US$2.9 billion in 2015 to US$12.7 billion in 2019, and is expected to reach US$40 billion by 2025.

Another highlight is mobile payment. According to the joint report by Temasek and Google, among others, the development of mobile payment has now reached an inflection point in ASEAN. The total volume of mobile payments in the six ASEAN countries was US$600 billion in 2019 and is expected to exceed US$1.1 trillion by 2025, which means US$1 out of every US$2 transaction in the region is settled by online payment.

"70% of Indonesia’s population in ASEAN still use cash on delivery. We believe this will change in the near future given the huge development of e-commerce and e-payment here." said Andrew You.

With a total population of 650 million, the ten ASEAN countries are at different stages of development and thus offer different opportunities. According to Greg Clark, HSBC’s Global Head of Future Cities & New Industries, in addition to Singapore, and dominant cities such as Kuala Lumpur and Jakarta, there is also a group of smaller capital cities that are now rapidly growing and shifting from traditional manufacturing hubs towards a more ad-vanced service and knowledge-oriented economy. Furthermore, there is a much larger group of cities where much of the population growth is now being contained. These are cities that are urbanizing for the first time, investing in primary infrastructures, and creating the consumers of the next 50 years, and producing a vibrant and dynamic market for new goods and services.

This has brought forth opportunities of Industry 4.0. Governments of Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam are now making a big effort to transform the manufacturing industry towards Industry 4.0. "In Malaysia, with ‘National Policy on Industry 4.0’, our government is looking to support manufacturers in using the Internet of Things and data analytics to understand how to better manage their supply chains and adopt new models of manufacturing. There’ll be a lot of opportunities coming out of that." said Dato’ Wan Peng Ng, COO of Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation

Huge Gap and Opportunities in Infrastructure Development

However, the promising new economy in ASEAN also faces some real problems. A major constraint is the infra-structure, which is holding back the new economy’s penetration in remote areas in particular.

Take Indonesia as an example. According to Andrew You, the country has more than 17,000 islands. So when developing e-commerce in the country, what matters is not just a focus on big data, logistics and e-payment. "In-donesia is actually a pretty big country, with three different time zones from east to west. We hope the govern-ment will invest further in infrastructure." said Andrew.

Despite the huge gap in infrastructure, Tokopedia, Indonesia’s e-commerce giant, is already focusing on opportu-nities in lower-tier markets where the company began to expand its business last year. William Tanuwijaya, its co-founder and CEO, said at the time that there were still 100 million people living in rural Indonesia without access to the Internet. But he also pointed out that this represents an opportunity to promote development by giving farmers and fishermen equal access to technological infrastructure.

According to Andrew You, it is not enough for companies to invest only in local digital platforms. They should also be encouraged to invest in the entire value chain such as local logistics and supply chain so as to contribute to the development of the region’s new economy.

"One of the areas where a lot of attention is being paid currently is on infrastructure development. There is an urban infrastructure investment gap and opportunity of about 2.8 trillion dollars. But there are many enabling mechanisms now to encourage private-sector capital to participate in that. Infrastructure development is at the heart of both the national and the local agendas in the ASEAN countries" said Greg Clark.

2020 is the Year of China-ASEAN Digital Economy Cooperation. At the opening ceremony of the kick-off event, Miao Wei, China’s Minister of Industry and Information Technology, said China will deepen cooperation with ASEAN in new economy sectors. Initiatives include data sharing of anti-coronavirus policies, measures, practices and solutions, 5G, IoT, AI and industrial internet, support for innovation, entrepreneurship and digital transfor-mation, development of smart cities and cybersecurity.

According to Wenjie Zhang, EVP and Co-head of Global Banking of HSBC China, besides traditional infrastructure, ASEAN is also investing in new types of infrastructure that first emerged in China such as the telecommunications infrastructure. In a region with a population over 600 million where local infrastructure is still underdeveloped, investments are much needed in areas such as the development of smart cities. So the ASEAN market offers great potential for further growth.

Over the past more than 150 years, HSBC has played an active role in ASEAN’s economic and infrastructural de-velopment. Today, the Bank has 200 banking outlets serving 30,000 corporate clients across 6 major markets in ASEAN. It has also set up China Desks in key ASEAN markets to help Chinese corporates achieve a new wave of business growth in the region by providing in-depth local knowledge and forward-looking insights.


2020 HSBC China ASEAN Corridor Webinar Series

Viewpoint: ASEAN's New Economy

Contact us

HSBCnet Service Hotline

800 830 3083


HSBC China WeChat Enterprise Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.




HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Andriod

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

疫情下东盟加速拥抱新经济
中资如何占得4万亿美元消费市场先机

尽管疫情的爆发给全球经济带来了前所未有的挑战,但新经济行业在疫情之下加速发展。

本文转自《21世纪财经报道》
微信公众号

尽管疫情的爆发给全球经济带来了前所未有的挑战,但新经济行业在疫情之下加速发展。受疫情影响,我们的生活和工作进一步依赖远程办公、电商配送等数字化商业,而这一趋势在东盟尤为明显。

“宅家”期间马来西亚、新加坡和越南等线上流媒体播放时间较疫前大涨60%,日均手机屏幕使用时间长达4.2小时为全球平均水平的1.2倍,年轻人则达到了5小时,这些数据来自世界经济论坛(WEF)6月发布的一份报告。另据Facebook和贝恩发布的最新东南亚新经济报告显示,疫情期间线上新鲜食品销量涨了3-4倍,8成以上受访消费者表示后疫情时代将继续网购新鲜食品,85%受访消费者表示疫情期间尝试了新的手机应用程序,很多人是初次使用。

“新经济领域出现的新业态在疫情期间加速了商业模式的转型和变革,我们越来越多得利用数字科技来获得更多的商机,包括电子商务、电子支付和在线医疗等。2019年底,东盟六国的网民数已经从2015年的2.6亿增加到3.6亿,如何充分把握东盟当地互联网人口的红利对我们来说非常重要。”汇丰中国副行长兼环球银行联席主管张文杰在近日举行的2020汇丰中国东盟经济走廊系列网络研讨会之“东盟新经济展望”上表示。

消费者和政府共同推动新经济发展

若放眼整个东盟,WEF预测在未来十年,东盟将成为世界第四大经济体,届时70%的东盟人口会成为中产阶级,消费市场的规模将成长为4万亿美元。在这之中,新经济将是一大主线,据淡马锡和谷歌等联合发布的报告显示,2015年到2019年间,东盟六国(印尼、越南、泰国、菲律宾、新加坡和马来西亚)的新经济的年复合增长率为33%,2015年总GMV(成交金额)为320亿美元,2019年首破1000亿美元的里程碑,占到总GDP的3.7%;预计到2025年将大增至3000亿美元,占到总GDP的8.5%。

“到2030年70%的东盟人口会成为中产阶级,大量消费者的购买力将得到提升,预计明年消费者支出将会恢复5%的增速。不仅仅是商业组织,包括年轻人和老年人在内的东盟消费者会越来越精通数字技术,他们已开始进行网购,电商将大幅受益。”马来西亚新经济发展局首席营运官拿督黄婉冰在同一研讨会上表示。东盟新经济的巨大潜力毋庸置疑,当地政府也正在政策层面积极拥抱数字化转型。

在东盟层面,2018年年末东盟通过了《东盟智慧城市网络框架》,共有26个东盟城市参加,主要目标是利用技术和数字技术来改善参与智慧城市网络建设的各城市居民的生活条件,实现该地区的互联互通。

“目前,26个领先的东盟城市正合力打造东盟智慧城市网络,通过一系列示范项目来推广新技术并引导市民参与。该网络中的每一座城市都在开展试点项目,涵盖领域包括市民信息、支付系统与互通操作。它们也在大量建设智能联网楼宇和交通设施,促进物联网发展。”汇丰未来城市及新兴产业全球主管Greg Clark表示。

比如越南政府在6月刚公布了《至2025年国家数字化转型计划及2030年发展方向》,旨在加快发展该国的数字政府、新经济、数字社会,同时形成具有全球竞争力的数字技术企业。越南计划在2025年,新经济达到该国GDP的20%;至2030年,越南普及光纤宽带和5G移动网络服务,拥有电子支付账户的人口比例将超过80%。

另外,泰国正在积极推进“泰国4.0”战略,该战略以5G等技术手段开启经济转型,目的是打造“智能型国家”。泰国驻华大使阿塔育在5月末接受采访时表示,泰国预计将在今年年底推出5G服务,届时将成为东盟第一个提供5G商用服务的国家。

“东盟各国政府正大力推动数字化解决方案,特别是金融科技的发展,他们希望银行、保险行业能够取得更多的发展,特别是要满足在东盟地区分散的农耕群体。东盟数字技术前景光明,这是由政府和消费者共同推动的。”欧盟东盟贸易协会执行董事 Chris Humphrey说。

印尼和越南领跑区域新经济发展

东盟十国前六大经济体为印尼、越南、泰国、菲律宾、新加坡和马来西亚,东盟六国目前总人口达5.7亿,不仅是东盟经济的引擎,也是新经济最为活跃的地方。在2015年,东盟六国只有4900万的电商用户,到2019年该数字已大涨至1.5亿。

在六国中,东盟人口第一大国印尼的潜力最被看好,印尼总人口近2.7亿,互联网用户数量从2015年的9200万快速增长至2019年的1.52亿人,同期其新经济创造了平均49%的年增速,在2019年达到了400亿美元。淡马锡和谷歌等联合发布的报告预计,到2025年,印尼的新经济规模将突破1300亿美元,尤其是其电商和网约车行业发展尤为强劲。

“2015年以来,印尼电商市场的交易额增长了500%。2019年涌入印尼的外商投资中有15%投入了电商行业。根据世界银行的预测,2025年印尼电商行业的GMV的增长将达到530亿美元。过去一段时间以来京东一直在印尼进行投资,其人口和互联网的渗透程度,使当地的数字经济非常具有吸引力,而且消费者购买力也非常大,其发展潜力如同这20年来的中国市场。”香港印尼商会理事、香港印尼贸易协会董事、原JD.ID商业解决方案,企业业务拓展及政府事务总监游锦安说。

在毕马威香港合伙人龙柏升看来,在东盟的各大市场中,印尼在数字经济领域的发展领先其他市场约有2-4年,其电子商务、电子支付及按需服务皆较成熟并广泛应用。

紧随印尼之后增长第二快的市场是越南。根据淡马锡和谷歌等联合发布的报告指出,过去四年来,越南数字经济以38%的年增速增长,2019年的规模为120亿美元,预计到2025年,将达430亿美元。东盟六国的其他四国包括泰国、马来西亚、新加坡和菲律宾的增速也不慢,自2015年以来的年增速均在20-30%之间。

就整体而言,东盟新经济最大的亮点为电商,不仅规模最大且增速最快。根据前述提及的报告指出,2019年,东盟六国的电商GMV达到了380亿美元,预计到2025年将暴增至1530亿美元。

另外,网约车服务的发展也相当繁荣且有特色,东盟网约车平台最早提供出行服务,此后业务开始延展至外卖及金融服务,旨在打造所谓的“超级应用程序”。东盟六国网约车平台的GMV从2015年的29亿美元增长至了2019年的127亿美元,预计到2025年将达400亿美元。

另一大亮点是移动支付,根据淡马锡和谷歌等联合发布的报告指出目前东盟的移动支付已到达发展的拐点,2019年,东盟六国的移动支付总规模为6000亿美元,预计到2025年将突破万亿达1.1万亿美元,即意味着该地区每2美元交易中的1美元是通过移动支付来完成的。

“目前东盟70%的人口还在使用现金支付,我们认为在不远的将来这种情况会大大改善,因为电子商务以及电子支付都得到了很大的发展。”游锦安说。

东盟十国总人口6.5亿,发展阶段各异,提供的机遇也不尽相同。在汇丰未来城市及新兴产业全球主管Greg Clark看来,除了新加坡及吉隆坡、雅加达和马尼拉这些占据主导地位的大城市外,还有一批规模相对较小的首都城市,正经历飞速增长,从传统制造业中心向更加先进的服务业及知识经济转型。还有一大批人口正在增长的城市,这些城市正首次经历城镇化进程,投资基础设施,打造面向未来50年的消费群体。

这其中就涌现出了工业4.0的相关机遇。“马来西亚、新加坡、泰国和越南现在正在大力推进制造业向工业4.0进行转型,在马来西亚我们有‘ 国家工业4.0政策’,政府希望能够支持通过物联网,利用数据分析来更好地管理供应链,实现新的制造模式,这将带来不少的机遇。”马来西亚数字经济发展局首席营运官拿督黄婉冰说。

基础设施缺口大投资机遇也大

不过,潜力巨大的东盟新经济也面临一些颇为现实的问题,一大制约因素就是基础设施条件,尤其是对于一些偏远地区的渗透。

以印尼为例,据游锦安介绍,印尼有1万7千多个岛屿,在发展电商时不仅仅关注大数据、物流和电子支付等,“印尼从东到西有三个不同的时区,我们希望政府能够进一步投资基建。”

尽管基建设施缺口巨大,但印尼电商巨头Tokopedia已开始重视下沉市场的机会。该公司在去年开始发力下沉市场,联合创始人兼首席执行官William Tanuwijaya当时表示,目前仍有1亿人生活在印尼的农村,未接入互联网,但他同时指出,这也是机遇所在,要通过给农民和渔民提供平等的技术基础设施来促进发展。

在游锦安看来,不仅仅要投资当地的新经济平台,同时还要鼓励对物流供应链等产业链上下游的投资,这样才能够促进整个地区新经济的发展。

“当前东盟特别引人关注的一大领域是基础设施开发。城市基建的投资缺口和机遇高达约2.8万亿美元。基建是东盟国家各级政府的核心要务,东盟已建立一系列机制,鼓励私有资本参与其中。”Greg Clark说。

2020年是中国-东盟数字经济合作年,中国工信部部长苗圩在6月12日举行的合作年开幕式上表示,中国将与东盟加深数字经济领域的合作,包括共享数字化防疫抗疫政策、措施、实践、解决方案,强化在5G、物联网、人工智能、工业互联网等各领域合作,支持创业创新和产业数字化转型,推动智慧城市发展,深化网络空间治理,推进网络安全务实合作等多个方面。

在汇丰中国副行长兼环球银行联席主管张文杰看来,传统基建项目之外的中国新基建项目正在向东盟的覆盖,比通信基础设施,相对于超过6亿人口的整个区域来说,基建条件还相对较弱,包括东盟智慧城市的发展都需要更多的投资,市场还有很大的增长空间。

多年来,汇丰在东盟的经济发展与基础设施开发中发挥了积极的作用,如今在东盟内有遍布六大市场的200个服务网点,服务30,000家企业客户。汇丰在东盟各主要市场特别设立了中资企业海外服务部,为中企把握东盟新一轮业务的发展需求提供深入的本地专识与前瞻见解。


2020汇丰中国东盟经济走廊系列网络研讨会

东盟新经济展望

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。