ASEAN Keeps Growing in the Post-COVID-19 Era, Chinese Companies to Adopt “Local + Regional” Strategies

It is important to have a comprehensive strategy to take advantage of ASEAN’s integration as well as the strength of each member market to optimize resources and develop their overall ASEAN business.

Article reposted from 21CBN
Wechat account

As a result of the anti-globalization wave in recent years, the global value chain is becoming increasingly regional-ized. Despite negative impacts from the COVID-19 pandemic, investment and trade between China and ASEAN have been booming this year.

According to customs statistics, in the first five months of this year, China's import and export with ASEAN amounted to 1.7 trillion yuan, up 4.2% yoy. Among that, China's export to ASEAN was 936.62 billion yuan, up 2.8% yoy, while its imports from ASEAN was 759.86 billion yuan, up 6% yoy, both higher than the overall growth rate of China's foreign trade during the same period. Against the backdrop of the ravaging pandemic, trade be-tween China and ASEAN has highlighted its enormous resilience and great potential.

For Chinese companies seeking to expand globally, ASEAN is usually their first stop and an important market for their overseas development." said Eddie Ching, EVP and Deputy CEO, HSBC China, on 18 June during the session themed "Making the most out of ASEAN" as part of 2020 HSBC China ASEAN Corridor Webinar Series.

A combination of "local + regional" strategies

On 29 May, China and ASEAN issued "ASEAN-China Economic Ministers’ Joint Statement on Combating the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) and Enhancing ACFTA Cooperation", fully acknowledging the important role of ACFTA in promoting trade and investment between the two sides. The statement also pledges to maintain mar-ket openness, eliminate unnecessary trade-restrictive measures and create a favorable trade and investment en-vironment. In doing so, the statement has laid a solid foundation for promoting regional trade and investment growth and rapid economic recovery in the aftermath of the pandemic.

According to IMF’s forecast, ASEAN is expected to be one of the first regions to come out of the economic conse-quences of the pandemic.

From January to April this year, China's overall ODI fell by 3.1%, but its ODI in ASEAN grew by 43.31% yoy. "There is now a global focus on whether China and ASEAN will recover soon, as this bears on the global economic recov-ery. At the same time, against the backdrop of anti-globalization, regional economy has become even more im-portant and will prompt Chinese companies to invest and expand in ASEAN at a faster pace." said Loletta Chow, Global Leader of Chinese Overseas Investment Network, EY; Belt and Road Task Force Leader, EY China; Asia Pacif-ic Growth Markets Leader, EY on the forum.

However, for aspiring Chinese companies, the ASEAN market presents both opportunities and challenges. Each country in the region has a different profile of development and offers a unique set of advantages in resources, sectors, services and consumer market. When discussing the issue of regional strategy, Jackson Phang, Regional VP, Greater China, Singapore Economic Development Board said "So companies usually have a dual strategy in the ASEAN market. One is for specific markets, such as Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam. And the other is a regional strategy so that they can coordinate local resources for purposes such as financing, talent develop-ment and innovation."

Jackson also said, "Many companies have set up ASEAN regional hubs in Malaysia and Singapore. In Singapore in particular, we see companies like Ali-cloud, Google, Envison, IBM and Bytedance setting up their regional head-quarters in Singapore, which allows them to coordinate strategic planning and execution in the region. 60% of companies entering Singapore use it as a regional hub for the entire ASEAN, or even as headquarters for their global operations."

Given the diversity and complexity of the regulatory mechanisms in ASEAN countries and the wide variation in development and infrastructure levels across the region, it is essential to develop a regional strategy for long-term success. So it is not advisable to adopt an undifferentiated strategy for ASEAN as one region.

Sandeep Uppal, Global Co-head of International Subsidiary Banking CMB, HSBC said, "Chinese companies are generally less likely to enter all ten ASEAN markets and countries at once. A more logical strategy is to start with one market or two similar markets, and then further expand to other countries with the experience and knowledge gained in the first market. This can then be followed by setting up regional offices coupled with coun-try-specific experience in a hub-and-spoke model that covers more countries in the region."

It is worth noting that ASEAN already has a regional ecosystem in terms of supply chain, "with many suppliers that have operations in the region. With that, Chinese companies no longer have to start afresh in every market they enter." added Sandeep.

Needless to say, when expanding in ASEAN, Chinese companies would also face challenges in terms of access to finance, currency fluctuations, policy changes, liquidity management, operating cost control, development of regional strategies and integration of regional resources and opportunities. On that note, Eddie said, "For com-panies, it is all the more important to have a comprehensive plan to take advantage of ASEAN’s integration as well as the strength of each member market to optimize resources and develop their overall ASEAN business. This will better enable them to enter new markets, explore business opportunities in the region and prevent risks."

As a financial services partner in ASEAN, HSBC is uniquely positioned to offer a strong regional presence, a one-stop-shop for banking services and global connectivity that can help companies grow in the region and beyond. At the same time, HSBC has established China Desks in key ASEAN markets to help its corporate customers trying to enter the regional market quickly identify local business opportunities and build local business partnerships.

Opportunities of ASEAN’s Integration and Diversity

China and ASEAN countries enjoy close ties and are each other’s major tourist destinations with more than 65 million people travelling to and from ASEAN each year. China is ASEAN’s largest trading partner while ASEAN is China's second largest trading partner.

In recent years, China and ASEAN have signed a number of trade agreements, providing institutional dividends to the growing bilateral trade. For example, in October 2019, the China-ASEAN FTA Upgrading Protocol took full effect as the outcome document of the two economies’ negotiations on FTA upgrading. Within the framework of the China-ASEAN FTA, more than 90% of goods from China and ASEAN are subject to zero tariffs.

For many Chinese companies, ASEAN is becoming a hotspot for investment that offers both the convenience of integration and diverse opportunities. As China and the ten ASEAN countries have achieved positive results in co-building "the Belt and Road", a large number of connectivity and capacity cooperation projects have been steadi-ly advanced. This has brought huge opportunities and space for Chinese companies to participate in ASEAN’s infrastructure development and related areas of cooperation.

Take the Philippines as an example. As the third largest economy in ASEAN, the country’s government launched its "Build, Build, Build" project in infrastructure development in 2017. When referring to this project, Graham FitzGerald, President and CEO of HSBC Philippines said, "Chinese companies are becoming more and more inter-ested in this and a lot of them are involved in different infrastructure projects not only as investors but also as contractors."

According to market observers, although both China and ASEAN are currently facing challenges in terms of sup-ply chain stability, their mutual willingness and motive to seek win-win cooperation have been on the rise. In the long run, Chinese corporate investments in the region are expected to maintain fast growth and cover a variety of sectors: from traditional manufacturing, real estate, mining, and public utilities to the emerging and rapidly growing sectors of e-commerce and logistics.

On 16 June, China Road and Bridge Corporation and the Bridge Bureau of the Philippine Ministry of Public Works signed a business contract for the Manila North-South Port Bridge Project. This project is the flagship project of the Philippine government's implementation of the large-scale special construction plan. The project is the flag-ship project of the Philippine government's "Build, Build, Build" program, which when completed is expected to significantly mitigate traffic congestion in the port area of Manila.

This year is also the year of China-ASEAN cooperation in digital economy. Both sides will co-host a series of events on themes including smart cities, big data, and artificial intelligence. Loletta Chow believes that in the post-COVID-19 era, the opportunities for investment in ASEAN are mainly present in digital technology, cross-border e-commerce, infrastructure and supply chain optimization.

At the same time, each ASEAN country has its own strengths, which provides a wide range of market opportuni-ties for Chinese companies "going out". For example, Singapore is strategically located in Southeast Asia and is the gateway to Southeast Asia for businesses. As one of Asia's financial centers, Singapore has an excellent busi-ness environment and a vibrant innovation ecosystem. Malaysia is a multicultural and multilingual hub with very good digital infrastructure and a pro-business environment. The Philippines has, among others, a rich and vibrant talent pool. While there are different regulations and languages across different markets, there are also com-monalities that enable companies to replicate experience gained in any one of the ASEAN markets.

According to a report by The Economist, during the Sino-US trade frictions, Malaysia was one of the biggest ben-eficiaries in sectors including IT, auto making and repair.

According to the Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA), Mainland China's investment in Malaysia in 2019 was MYR15.7 billion, only after the US and ahead of Japan. Mainland China, the US and Japan together account for 66.3% of the total FDI in the country. And in the manufacturing sector, China invested MYR15.3 bil-lion in Malaysia in 2019, making it the largest source of investment in the sector for four years in a row.

Feilo, a Shanghai-based company, is a classic example. The company not only set up its regional headquarters in Malaysia but also partnered with a Malaysian company to establish a regional manufacturing hub serving neigh-boring countries and territories. When referring to the case, Muhammad Azmi Zulkifli, CEO of InvestKL Corpora-tion said, "Chinese companies can tap into the full potential of Malaysia, either through a corporate joint venture approach or through public-private partnerships. Chinese companies can not only cooperate at the federal level, but also with the states, in infrastructure projects, industrial parks and other projects."


Contact us

HSBCnet Service Hotline

800 830 3083


HSBC China WeChat Enterprise Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.




HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Andriod

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

后疫情时代东盟经济逆势增长
中企须瞄准目标市场叠加区域化战略

对企业来说,需要有一个全面的规划和考量来把握东盟的一体化优势,同时利用每个市场的长处因地制宜,实现资源的整合优化,拓展东盟的整体业务。

本文转自《21世纪财经报道》
微信公众号

近年来,在逆全球化的浪潮下,全球产业链的分工正趋向于区域化。尽管存在新冠疫情的影响,今年以来中国和东盟投资贸易却呈现逆市蓬勃发展的势头。

根据海关数据,今年前5个月,中国与东盟进出口1.7万亿元,同比增长4.2%,其中中国对东盟出口9366.2亿元,增长2.8%,自东盟进口7598.6亿元,增长6%,均高于中国同期外贸进出口整体增速。在全球疫情蔓延的背景下,中国与东盟之间的贸易往来凸显了极强的韧性和巨大的潜力。

插入程总照片,请留意其抬头变化为汇丰中国常务副行长兼副行政总裁 “对全球化发展的中资企业来说东盟在很多时候会是他们走出去的第一站,也成为业务发展的重要市场。”汇丰中国常务副行长兼副行政总裁程卓雄在6月18日举行的2020汇丰中国东盟经济走廊系列网络研讨会之“把握东盟优势,拓展区域商机”论坛上表示。

目标市场+区域化战略 并驾齐驱

5月29日,中国与东盟发表《中国—东盟经贸部长关于抗击新冠肺炎疫情加强自贸合作的联合声明》,充分肯定中国—东盟自贸协定对促进双方贸易投资发展的重要作用,承诺保持市场开放,消除不必要的贸易限制措施,营造良好的贸易投资环境。这也为促进区域贸易投资增长和疫情过后区域经济快速复苏奠定了良好基础。

IMF报告亦预测,东盟有望成为率先摆脱疫情带来的经济困局的区域之一。

今年1-4月,中国对外直接投资总体下降3.1%,但对东盟的直接投资却同比逆势增长了43.31%。“现在全球都在关注中国和整个东盟地区的经济能否尽快恢复,因为这直接关系到全球经济复苏的进程。同时,在逆全球化的趋势下,区域经济显得更加重要,这将会加快未来中国企业在东盟的投资和发展。”安永中国海外投资业务部全球主管、安永中国“一带一路”主管、安永亚太区高增长市场主管周昭媚在论坛上表示。

然而,对于跃跃欲试的中资企业而言,东盟市场可谓机遇与挑战并存。东盟每个国家的发展特色又各不相同,不同市场在资源、行业、服务、消费市场等方面存在各自的特点和优势。新加坡经济发展局大中华区副司长彭鈱荃在谈到区域化战略时表示:“公司在研究东盟市场的时候有两层的战略,有一个具体市场的策略,比如马来西亚、印尼、泰国或者越南,还需要一个区域化的策略,如何能够使用本地的资源,比如融资,人才的发展以及创新等。”

彭鈱荃在会上介绍:“有很多的企业在东盟已经设立了区域的中心,在马来西亚和新加坡,特别在新加坡,我们看到像阿里云、谷歌,远景、IBM,字节跳动等的区域总部都在新加坡,从而能够去协调战略规划以及在区域的战略落地。有60%进入新加坡的国际企业都新加坡作为整个东盟的区域中心,甚至作为全球运营的总部。”

东盟成员国的监管机制多样且复杂,各国的发展和基础建设水平也存在巨大差异,因此,制定区域性的战略是企业获取长期成功的关键因素。不能纯粹地把东盟看成一个整体就用一套策略。

汇丰工商金融国际业务部环球联席主管安思德建议:“中国企业一般不大会一下子进入东盟十个市场和国家,一个可行的策略就是从一个市场入手或者两个相似度比较高的市场入手,把获得的经验扩大到其他的国家,再通过区域总部叠加各地经验,以一个轴心和轮辐的模式扩展至区域内的其他市场。”

值得关注的是,东盟在供应链方面已经有了一个区域性的生态圈,“有很多的供应商他在东盟都有业务。这就不必让中国公司每进入一个市场都一切从头做起。”安思德补充道。

当然,中资企业在布局东盟过程中也会遇到类似融资渠道、 汇率波动、政策变化、流动性管理、营运成本控制以及如何发展区域化战略,整合区域资源和机遇等一系列挑战。程卓雄对此表示:“对企业来说,更需要有一个全面的规划和考量来把握东盟的一体化优势,同时利用每个市场的长处因地制宜,实现资源的整合优化,拓展东盟的整体业务,以更好地进入新市场,不断拓展区域商机,同时防范风险。”

作为东盟地区的金融服务合作伙伴,汇丰拥有其独特优势,具备强大的区域服务能力、提供一站式银行服务以及联动网络,有助于企业在东盟以及更多地区实现增长。同时,汇丰在东盟各主要市场建立了中资企业海外服务部,帮助进入东盟市场的企业快速寻找当地商机并与商业合作伙伴建立联系。

东盟一体化与多元化的机遇

中国与东盟各国往来密切,互为主要旅游目的地,每年人员往来超过6500万人次,中国是东盟第一大贸易伙伴,东盟则是中国第二大贸易伙伴。

近年来,中国和东盟在经贸领域签订多份协定,为双方贸易不断增长提供制度红利。例如,2019年10月,作为中国—东盟自贸区升级谈判的成果文件,《中国—东盟自贸区升级议定书》全面生效。在中国—东盟自贸区框架内,中国和东盟90%以上的商品实现零关税。

对于众多的中资企业而言,东盟正在成为一片兼具一体化便利性和多元化机遇性的投资热土。随着中国与东盟十国共建“一带一路”取得积极成果,一大批互联互通、产能合作项目稳步推进。这为中资企业参与东盟基础设施及相关领域的合作带来巨大的机遇和空间。

以菲律宾为例,作为东盟第三大经济体, 2017年该国政府推出“大建特建”(“Build, Build, Build”)基建计划。汇丰菲律宾行长兼行政总裁Graham FitzGerald 提到该计划时表示:“中国企业对此项目的兴趣与日俱增,并有很多企业已参与了不同的基建项目,不仅仅作为投资者,也以承包商身份参与项目建设。”

市场人士认为,尽管当前中国与东盟都面临产业链供应链稳定等方面的挑战,反而加强了双方寻求合作共赢的意愿和动力。长远来看,中国企业会对东盟地区的投资有望保持高速增长,且投资涉及多个领域:从传统的制造业、房地产、矿业、公共设施领域,到新兴并快速发展的电商、物流等领域。

6月16日,中国路桥与菲律宾公造部桥梁局签署马尼拉南北港大桥项目商务合同。该项目是菲律宾政府实施“大建特建”计划中的旗舰项目,建成后有望大大缓解首都马尼拉港区交通拥堵的问题。

今年亦是中国—东盟数字经济合作年,双方将在智慧城市、大数据、人工智能等领域共同举办一系列活动。周昭媚认为,后疫情时代,投资东盟的机遇主要在数字科技、跨境电商、基础设施和供应链优化四个领域。

同时,东盟各国各有所长,为中资企业“出海”提供了多样化的市场机遇。比如,新加坡地处东南亚的战略位置,是企业通往东南亚的门户;作为亚洲金融中心之一,新加坡营商环境优越,同时拥有生机勃勃的创科生态体系;马来西亚是多文化多语言的枢纽,有非常良好的数字化基础设施,营商环境良好;菲律宾具有丰富而多元的人才优势等等。安思德表示,虽然各个市场有不同的监管,有不同的语言,但也存在共通性,能够让企业将一个市场的经验复制到东盟其他市场。

根据经济学人杂志的报告,在中美贸易摩擦期间,在信息技术、汽车制造和维修领域,马来西亚同时上榜成为最大的受益国。

马来西亚投资发展局的数据显示,2019年,中国内地对马来西亚的投资额为157亿马币,仅次于美国,超过日本,中国内地、美国和日本总计占外商投资总额的66.3%。而在制造业领域,2019年中国的投资额为153亿马币,连续四年成为最大制造业投资来源地。

上海飞乐音响股份有限公司落户马来西亚就是一个经典案例。飞乐不仅在马来西亚建立了区域中心,而且还与马来西亚公司合作,建立了区域的制造中心,辐射周边国家和地区。马来西亚吉隆坡投资促进局首席执行官Muhammad Azmi Zulkifli在谈到这一案例时表示:“中资企业来可以充分的挖掘马来西亚的潜力,通过公司合营的办法,也可以通过私营的伙伴关系开展业务。中国公司不仅可以在联邦层面上合作,也可以和各个州合作,参与基础设施项目、工业园区等不同项目。”


联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。