ASEAN Rises to Become China's Top Trading Partner, Great Prospect for China + ASEAN Strategy

As the global supply chain is undergoing profound changes wrought by the COVID-19 pandemic,the process of  regional integration is increasingly taking place between China and ASEAN.

Article reposted from 21CBN
Wechat account

As the global supply chain is undergoing profound changes wrought by the COVID-19 pandemic, risks are being exposed. Some analysis points out that the current global supply chain is too long and over-segmented, which highlights the pressing need for regional integration. That process is increasingly taking place between China and ASEAN.

Since the beginning of this year, ASEAN has risen to overtake the EU as China's top trading partner despite global repercussions of the COVID-19 pandemic. Statistics for January through May show that trade between China and ASEAN reached RMB 1.7 trillion, up 4.2% yoy, accounting for 14.7% of China's total foreign trade. In terms of investment, from January to April this year, China's non-financial outward direct investment (ODI) in ASEAN reached US$3.94 billion, up 43.3% yoy and more than three times the growth rate of China's investment in 53 countries along the "Belt and Road (BRI)". At the same time, ASEAN's investment in China has increased by 13% yoy. This is fairly impressive given the 6.1% contraction of China’s utilized FDI in the first four months of this year.

"Those statistics have highlighted the potential and resilience of China-ASEAN cooperation against the backdrop when the US and Europe are yet to rebound their economies due to the pandemic. According to HSBC’s observations, more and more Chinese corporates are gradually coming out of the crisis and beginning to plan their next step in the new economic environment. In other words, they are quickly adapting to the changes of the global supply chain and trade." said Frank Fang, EVP and Head of Commercial Banking, HSBC China, on 17 June during the session themed "Supply Chain: the ASEAN Option" as part of 2020 HSBC China ASEAN Corridor Webinar Series.

Strong Complementarity between China and ASEAN

On one hand, the ASEAN market offers great potential. Combined as one, ASEAN is one of the fastest-growing leading economies in the world.

As of 2018, the 10 ASEAN countries had a combined population of close to 650 million, a total GDP of nearly US$3 trillion and a growth rate of 5.2%, significantly higher than the rest of the world. Although the region’s GDP per capita currently stands at US$4,308, a June report published by World Economic Forum shows that 70% of the ASEAN population will become middle class by 2030.

As a production base, ASEAN features a number of well-recognized comparative advantages, including demographic dividends and low labor costs, all of which are attracting increasing foreign direct investments (FDI) into the region. In 2018, ASEAN’s FDI inflow reached a record high of US$149 billion, up 3% yoy.

"The average wage level in China is about 2-3 times that of Indonesia, and if you compare it to some countries like Vietnam and Cambodia, the gap may be bigger." said Erry Hardianto, Area Managing Director, A.P. Moller-Maersk.

Among foreign investors entering ASEAN are some Chinese corporates. According to Sonklin Ploymee, Acting Senior Executive Advisor, Board of Investment Thailand, over the past few years, Thailand has attracted more FDI from China. Chinese companies in industrial sectors such as electronics, home appliances, auto parts, solar panels are investing in Thailand so that they can manage their supply chain outside of China or enter new markets.

Aside from lower labor costs, ASEAN has another major advantage in the form of free trade agreements (FTAs). In October 2019, the China-ASEAN FTA Upgrading Protocol took full effect as the outcome document of the two economies’ negotiations on FTA upgrading. Within the framework of the China-ASEAN FTA, more than 90% of goods from China and ASEAN are subject to zero tariffs. In addition, ASEAN has signed bilateral FTAs with Hong Kong SAR, Australia, India, Japan, New Zealand and Korea.

From August 1 this year, the Vietnam-EU Free Trade Agreement and the Vietnam-EU Investment Protection Agreement will enter into force, under which about 99% of tariffs in Vietnam-EU bilateral trade in goods will be phased out within the next 10 years.

In addition, the 15 member countries of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) are aiming to officially sign the agreement this year, and remain open to India's participation. Within RCEP, over 90% of trade in goods will be fully liberalized, covering half of the world's population. The partnership will account for about 32.2% of the global GDP and about 29.1% of the world trade.

"For some manufacturing companies, setting up production hubs in ASEAN can fully benefit from the region’s FTAs. So can those from China." said Erry Hardianto, Area Managing Director, A.P. Moller-Maersk.

Faced with the influx of FDI, ASEAN is improving its investment environment. As a unified tax rate regime is elusive under the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Integration Agreement, its member countries are trying to trying to attract more FDI with preferential tax rates.

"Vietnam offers many incentives for foreign investments. For instance, on the 20% corporate income tax, if you build a factory, you will be exempted from paying corporate income tax for the first two years and enjoy a 50% reduction for the next four years. It is possible to set up a wholly foreign-owned firm and easy to move money in and out of the country." said Michael Chan, Country Head of Sales & Marketing, BW Industrial Development JSC Vietnam.

According to Sonklin Ploymee, Thailand is currently working on the Eastern Corridor Economic Program (EEC), hoping to create a high-tech cluster. The government also provides incentives for 13 key industries such as next generation automotive, medical and aviation, etc.

Opportunities and Challenges

Investing in ASEAN also faces challenges. One is the lack of a complete supply chain locally. " Thailand still imports some of raw materials and intermediates for production. They come from Japan, Korea, China and some other countries. That may have constraints in production of some products. If you come to Thailand to invest and diversify your supply chain, I would suggest exploring with your suppliers to invest together." said Sonklin Ploymee.

This is also a problem in Vietnam. According to Michael Chan, Vietnam doesn’t have a complete supply chain. So some large foreign firms would invest together with their upstream and downstream partners when entering the market. This is to ensure that they can set up an ecosystem locally. However, the geographical proximity between China and ASEAN can alleviate these problems to some extent. "In less than 24 hours, semi-products and raw materials can be transported from China to Vietnam and the cost of land transporation is low."

Besides the problem of local supply chain, lack of technical talent is another major challenge. According to Sonklin Ploymee, Thailand also need to invite more foreign talent because of its policy to promote investment in high technological industries and hopes to work with investors to facilitate the investment in the targeted sectors.

A third major challenge is ASEAN’s infrastructure. "Vietnam's infrastructure is still relatively poor at the moment, with only 24% of the country's roads paved and transport networks not particularly accessible. So when choosing a specific location to invest in, it's important to ensure that you are geographically close to your upstream and downstream suppliers." said Michael Chan.

Nonetheless, with the implementation of the BRI, it is expected that ASEAN's infrastructure will continue to be improved and connectivity will further facilitate seamless and stable bilateral trade. ASEAN is a key region under the BRI. Now China-ASEAN relations have entered a new stage featuring all-round development. All 10 ASEAN countries have signed the BRI Cooperation Document with China. And Chinese companies have cumulatively invested over US$100 billion in the region, built 25 economic and trade cooperation zones and created more than 100,000 local jobs.

Take the China-Singapore (Chongqing) Demonstration Initiative on Strategic Connectivity as an example. The initiative was launched in 2015. In late June this year, Lui Tuck Yew, Ambassador of Singapore to China, said that since the COVID-19 outbreak, the "New International Land-Sea Trade Corridor" under the initiative has become an effective new trade link between Southeast Asia and China’s western region. With that, bilateral trading routes and supply chain have become more resilient, and necessities such as food and medical supplies are undergoing fluid flows.

Statistics so far this year have already reflected possibilities of deeper integration of supply chains between China and ASEAN. According to information published on the official website of the China-ASEAN Business Council, in the first quarter of 2020, China imported US$14.9 billion worth of integrated circuits (ICs) from ASEAN countries, up 25 percent yoy. The import mainly includes chip capacitors, micro-processor chips and analog-to-digital converters. At the same time, China exported about US$6 billion worth of ICs to ASEAN, up 28% yoy.

According to relevant analysis, some Japanese and Korean manufacturers are relocating their supply chain to ASEAN by setting up IC plants in countries like Vietnam and Malaysia so as to meet the demand of the Chinese market. But that doesn’t mean the relocation of the entire value chain of the manufacturing industry to ASEAN. Rather, it’s an extension of the value chain from China. Many manufacturing hubs still need to import raw materials, equipment and technologies from China. At the same time, they rely on China as a major consumer market.

ASEAN to Remain a Hotspot for Chinese Investments

The pandemic will continue to push companies in all countries to re-examine their existing sourcing and supply strategies to diversify risks. Given the complementary industrial structures between the two economies, cost advantages of inter-regional logistics and further institutional dividends under RCEP, bilateral trading relations between China and ASEAN are expected to be further strengthened. Against this backdrop, ASEAN is expected to continue to be a hotspot for Chinese corporate investments in the aftermath of the pandemic.

"China and ASEAN will continue to consolidate and reshape their supply chains and covert more capacity into production. They will also continue to develop and expand multi-lateral trade and even build a new value chain. Both will play an essential role in global economic recovery." said Frank Fang, EVP and Head of Commercial Banking, HSBC China.

Over the past more than 150 years, HSBC has played an active role in ASEAN’s economic and infrastructural development. Today, the Bank’s network covers over 93% of the region’s GDP and external trade with 200 banking outlets serving 10,000 large corporates, 20,000 SMEs and 2.5 million retail customers across 6 major markets in ASEAN.

HSBC has also set up China Desks in key ASEAN markets to help Chinese corporates achieve a new wave of business growth in the region by providing in-depth local knowledge and forward-looking insights. Leveraging our connectivity in ASEAN and beyond, the Bank can link our customers with business opportunities and provide locally relevant solutions and one-stop banking services. We also explore innovative technologies such as the blockchain to help customers embrace a future of rapid changes.

"The resilience of supply chains has been brought to the forefront during the current crisis. From a banking perspective, there will increased focus on digital solutions. There will be increased need to be able to finance the multiple levels of supply chains – not just in China, but also worldwide. Cross-border digital connectivity is real and an area of focus" said Ajay Sharma, Regional Head of Global Trade and Receivable Finance, HSBC.


2020 HSBC China ASEAN Corridor Webinar Series

Suppy Chain: The ASEAN Option

Contact us

HSBCnet Service Hotline

800 830 3083


HSBC China WeChat Enterprise Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.




HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Andriod

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

东盟"逆袭"成中国最大贸易伙伴
中国+东盟策略大有可为

疫情暴露了全球产业链供应链过长、过细的风险,凸显了区域经济一体化的迫切性,眼下这一变化正在中国和东盟间提速。

本文转自《21世纪财经报道》
微信公众号

当前全球产业链供应链格局正因疫情发生深刻变化,相关分析指出,疫情暴露了全球产业链供应链过长、过细的风险,凸显了区域经济一体化的迫切性,眼下这一变化正在中国和东盟间提速。

“上述数据凸显了中国和东盟间合作的潜力和韧性,在全球经济遭受疫情冲击的背景下欧美经济重启艰难。根据汇丰的观察,我们看到越来越多的中企已逐步走出疫情影响,开始布局新环境中下一步的发展,即如何快速适应供应链及国际贸易的变化。”汇丰中国副行长兼工商金融主管方啸在6月17日举行的2020汇丰中国东盟经济走廊系列网络研讨会之“后疫情时代供应链的转型与重塑”上表示。

中国和东盟比较优势互补性强

一方面,东盟本身是一个潜力巨大的市场,作为一个整体,东盟是世界上增长最快的领先经济体之一。

截至2018年,东盟10国人口近6.5亿人;GDP总额2018年接近3万亿美元,增速为5.2%,显著高于全球其它地区;尽管目前人均GDP为4308美元,不过据世界经济论坛6月发布的报告显示,到2030年70%的东盟人口会成为中产阶级。

东盟作为生产基地的比较优势不言而喻,包括人口红利、劳动力成本在内等优势正吸引越来越多外商前去投资。就在2018年,流入东盟的外商直接投资(FDI)达1490亿美元,创下历史新高,较前一年增加3%。

“中国的平均工资水平大概是印尼的2—3倍,如果和越南、柬埔寨等一些国家相比,可能差距会更大。”马士基区域董事总经理Erry Hardianto说。

涌入东盟的外商中不乏中企的身影。据泰国投资促进委员会代资深执行顾问Sonklin Ploymee介绍,过去几年以来,泰国吸引了较之前更多的来自中国的投资,在工业方面吸引了电子、家电、汽车零部件、太阳能电池板等中资的入驻,一方面可以实现在中国外的供应链管理,另有公司欲进入中国外的市场。

除了劳动力成本外,东盟与外部签署的自贸协定也是一大优势。2019年10月,作为中国—东盟自贸区升级谈判成果文件,《中国-东盟自贸区升级议定书》全面生效。在中国—东盟自贸区框架内,中国和东盟90%以上的商品实现了零关税。此外,东盟已与中国香港、澳大利亚、 印度、日本、新西兰和韩国签署双边自贸协定 。

今年8月1日起,《越南—欧盟自由贸易协定》和《越南—欧盟投资保护协定》将正式生效,届时越南—欧盟双边货物贸易中约99%的关税将在10年内逐渐削减直至取消。

另外,区域全面经济伙伴关系(RCEP)15个成员国力争于今年年内正式签署,并对印度的参与保持开放态度,RCEP在货物贸易方面,整体开放水平达到90%以上,涵盖全球一半的人口,GDP总值约占全球32.2%,贸易额约占全球的29.1%。

“对于一些制造业来讲,在东盟设立生产基地可以充分利用东盟的自贸协定,中国企业是可以受益于这些协定的。”Erry Hardianto说。

面对外资涌入的机遇,东盟正在改善其外商投资环境。由于东盟经济共同体(AEC)区域一体化协定并未包含税率的统一,因此各成员国正试图通过税率来彰显优势以此来吸引外商投资。

“越南对外资有很多优惠政策,包括20%企业所得税,如果建厂,那么前两年将免缴企业所得税,后四年可享受所得税减半;可以设立外商独资企业,资金的出入都很便利。”越南BW工业发展股份公司销售及市场部总经理陈楚鸿表示。

据Sonklin Ploymee介绍,泰国目前在大力打造东部走廊经济计划(EEC),希望能够形成高科技产业的集群,对于13大产业包括新一代汽车、医疗和航空等重点产业提供优惠政策。

机遇和挑战并存

不过投资东盟面临几大挑战。一大挑战就是本土的供应链不够完善,“泰国还有进口一些原材料和中间品来促进生产,企业如果来泰国进行供应链的多元化整合,建议可以和供应商探讨一起来投资。”Sonklin Ploymee说。

越南也存在同样的问题,据陈楚鸿介绍,由于本土供应链不够完整,一些大型外企在进入当地时会携上下游伙伴一起投资,确保整个生态系统在越南生根落地。不过,同时他也指出,中国和东盟间的地理距离接近一定程度上也可缓解上述问题。“不到24个小时,半成品、原材料都能够从中国运到越南来,并且火车陆运成本较低。”

除本土供应链问题外,技术人才的稀缺也是一大问题,Sonklin Ploymee表示,由于政府大力推进高科技产业的投资,泰国需要引入更多来自国外的人才,希望可以和投资者合作解决这个问题。

另一大挑战就是东盟的基建设施,“越南的基础设施目前仍比较落后,全国只有24%的道路是铺平的,运输网络不是特别的方便,因此在选择投资具体地点时,一定要确保在距离上贴近上下游的供应商。”陈楚鸿说。

不过,随着“一带一路”倡议的推进,有望推动东盟基础设施的继续完善,设施的互联互通有将进一步促进双边经贸的畅通和稳定。东盟是共建“一带一路”的重点地区,目前,中国-东盟关系已进入了全方位发展的新阶段,东盟10国均与中国签署了共建“一带一路”合作文件,中方企业在东盟累计投资突破1000亿美元,建设了25个经贸合作区,为当地创造10多万个工作岗位。

以中新(重庆)互联互通示范项目为例,该项目启动于2015年,新加坡驻华大使吕德耀在今年6月下旬表示,自疫情暴发以来,该项目下的“国际陆海贸易新通道”成为连接东南亚和中国西部地区的有效贸易新通道,加强了双边贸易路线和供应链的韧性,促进了食品、医疗物资等必需品的平稳流动。

今年以来的数据已体现了中国和东盟间产业链供应链深化整合的可能性。据中国-东盟商务理事会官网公布的信息,2020年第一季度,中国从东盟国家进口了价值149亿美元的集成电路,比上一年增长了25%。主要包括芯片电容器、微处理器芯片和模数转换器;与此同时,中国向东盟出口了价值约60亿美元的集成电路,同比增长了28%。

相关分析指出,日本、韩国的一些制造业将产业链转移至东盟,在越南、马来西亚等地设立集成电路工厂,以此满足中国市场的需求。但这并不意味着产业链整体迁至东盟,更多的是一种中国产业链的外延,许多制造基地仍然需要从中国进口原材料、设备仪器、技术等,另外他们又依赖于中国这个主要消费市场。

东盟将继续成为中资投资热土

疫情将继续促使各国企业重新审视既有的采购和供应战略,采取多元化来分散风险。鉴于中国和东盟间的产业结构互补性,区域间的物流成本优势,另外,RCEP将为贸易提供进一步的制度红利,多因素综合之下,预计双边贸易关系将得到进一步的强化。在这样的背景下,东盟有望在疫情之后继续成为中国企业的投资热土。

“中国与东盟之间将继续加强供应链整合与重塑,完善产能转化,继续发展和扩大多边贸易,甚至打造新的产业链,将在全球经济复苏中扮演非常重要的角色。”汇丰中国副行长兼工商金融主管方啸表示。

150多年来,汇丰在东盟的经济发展与基础设施开发中发挥了积极的作用。在东盟内有遍布六大市场的200个服务网点服务10,000家大型企业客户、20,000家中小企业客户和250万位零售银行客户。

汇丰在东盟各主要市场还特别设立了中资企业海外服务部,为中企把握东盟新一轮业务的发展需求提供深入的本地专识与前瞻见解,在东盟以及更多地区利用联动网络为客户联接商机,提供具备区域服务能力的专业化解决方案和一站式银行服务,并通过探索区块链等多重创新举措,帮助客户拥抱飞速变化的未来。

“供应链的韧性在此次疫情中成为被关注的焦点。站在银行的角度,未来将更加注重数字化解决方案;此外,满足多层次的供应链融资需求也是大势所趋,不仅仅是在中国更是在全球范围的。”汇丰亚太区环球贸易及融资业务部区域主管 Ajay Sharma说。


2020汇丰中国东盟经济走廊系列网络研讨会

后疫情时代供应链的转型与重构

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。