Let life flourish at Honghu Lake

The Life of the Yangtze River, the Rebirth of Honghu Lake

“Honghu Lake, the waves crashing on the shore, of our home town.” This ballad has made Honghu Lake a household name. Back in the day, Honghu did live up to its name and had clear green ripples echoing in the lake.

In the 1990s, Honghu lost its previous glamour. Overfishing brought in incomes while at the same time hindered the future of Honghu. As waters in the lake grew muddier, villagers were devastated, and they grew reluctant to drink from the lake. Moreover, deterioration in the water quality of Honghu Lake, meant that the waterweeds were on the verge of extinction, the number of water birds and fishes shrank dramatically.

In 2003, HSBC helped World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) to partner with Honghu Lake Reserve Administration Bureau. A preservation and restoration demonstration zone covering 5,000 mu (around 3.33 km²) had been established in Yangchai Lake Area of Honghu: with fishing nets and poles removed, cages torn down, waterweeds planted, wild ducks bred and indigenous fish fries released – the demonstration zone was brought back to life. Water quality at the demonstration zone met with Level II national standard. Waterweeds began to grow again, 33 species of water birds, including the endangered oriental stork returned. Success of the demonstration zone offered a silver lining for the wetland preservation of Honghu Lake. Then began the comprehensive improvement of the ecological situation in Honghu Lake.

HSBS knows that completely solving the problem requires more than just helping fishermen to be more environmentally conscious and must take into account the demand for economic development and daily needs of residents. We also need to help them develop environment-friendly livelihood to secure their income.

HSBC joined forces with research institutes and NGOs to assist the government in helping fishermen to find alternative sources of income, such as moving from traditional fishing to eco-friendly aquaculture, developing eco-tourism, and producing premium aqua products, all of which adheres to the philosophy of “ecology first, green development”. HSBC’s initiative of helping with the rebirth of Honghu Lake won the “Best Lake Protection Practice Award” at the 2006 World Lake Congress.

A charming Honghu Lake re-surfaced – the vast lake is filled with clear waters, teeming with lotus flowers, wild ducks can be found everywhere, while gulls are dozing off on the lake. Honghu Lake today bristles with vitality.

This is a tiny part of HSBC Living Yangtze Programme. HSBC has donated more than RMB200 million over the past 20 years, dedicated to the general preservation of the Yangtze River basin and the major wetlands in China. It has protected rivers of 1,222 km, wetland areas of 614,784 hectares, while the green development fuelled by this programme benefited 83,288 people. In the future, HSBC will spare no effort and continue to work with all walks of the society to jointly build a beautiful China.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

让传唱中的洪湖,重新绽放生命力

生命长江 再生洪湖

“洪湖水,浪打浪,洪湖岸边是家乡。”

一曲歌谣,让洪湖美名天下扬。曾经的洪湖,是名副其实的碧波荡漾。

90年代的洪湖,逐渐失去往昔之美。渔民过度开发养殖,“鱼竿围网”带来收入,也同时围住了洪湖的未来。随着湖水日渐污浊,村民痛心感慨,不敢再放心地饮用湖里的水了。不仅如此,洪湖水质的恶化,直接导致水草濒临枯竭,水鸟和鱼类等资源急剧减少。

2003年,汇丰帮助世界自然基金会和洪湖保护区管理局合作,在阳柴湖建立了5000亩保护与恢复示范区:拆除围网,清除地笼,人工种植水草,放养野鸭,投放原生鱼苗,让示范区重新焕发了生机。示范区水质达到国家II类标准,水草再度生长,33种水鸟包括国际濒危物种东方白鹳也重回家园。示范区的成功,让洪湖的湿地保护工作看到了希望。洪湖的全面治理,自此拉开了帷幕。

汇丰认为仅仅帮助渔民树立环保意识还不够,还需要兼顾当地经济发展和渔民的需求,推动上岸渔民获得更可持续的替代生计,才能从根本上解决问题。

汇丰联合科研机构、公益组织,一起协助政府扶持上岸渔民寻找替代生计,从传统渔业向生态养殖渔业转型,尝试性发展生态旅游、名特优水产品养殖等,践行“生态优先,绿色发展”的公益之道。汇丰洪湖的再生行动,获得了2006年世界湖泊大会的“最佳湖泊保护实践奖”。

迷人洪湖又重现了,浩渺湖面,漫天碧荷,遍地野鸭,白鸥伴眠。今日的洪湖,洋溢着生机之美。

这是汇丰“还长江生命之网”公益项目的一个缩影。在过去20年,汇丰先后资助了2亿多元人民币,致力于长江流域和中国主要湿地的大保护。共计守护河流长度1,222公里,保护湿地面积614,784 公顷,同时绿色发展造福83,288人。未来汇丰将继续倾力与各界携手,共同建设美丽中国。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。