Let Life Flourish at Honghu Lake

Protecting the Yangtze River

 

 

 

 

The Yangtze River Basin is a development area of strategic importance in China. Conservation of the Yangtze River must be balanced with economic development and livelihood improvement. Over the past 20 years, HSBC has donated more than RMB 200 million for the conservation of the Yangtze River Basin and China's major wetlands. In total, with support from the bank, 2,432 km of the River and 767,620 hectares of wetlands were protected while more than 5,000 wetland managers and conservers were trained. At the same time, green development fueled by this programme has benefited 83,914 people.

"Protecting the environment, tackling climate change and supporting sustainable development have always been HSBC’s commitments. In 2020, the bank launched a new round of Climate Change Initiative to support our customers, employees and communities in pursuing green development and embracing a low-carbon era together." said Mark Wang, President and CEO, HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited.

In the early 90s, Honghu Lake was densely populated by fishing nets fixed with more than 10 million bamboo poles. People started fishing in large quantities. As a result, water stopped flowing and became increasingly dirty, and fish production dropped dramatically. So some fishermen began to hunt birds for a living, and Zhang Shengyuan was one of them. After education by the authorities, Zhang realised that protecting the environment means protecting his own livelihood and later became an assistant patroller. That changed him completely. He put down his hunting rifle and began to patrol Honghu Lake day and night by punting a small boat, rain or shine, to spot and expel poachers. HSBC assisted WWF and the Honghu Conservation Authority in establishing a wetland protection and restoration demonstration area in Yangchaihu Lake, and carried out large-scale fence removal work there. During the restoration process, HSBC’s staff volunteers would often visit Honghu Lake and get directly involved in local conservation efforts. Each time they go there, they could see Zhang boating in different areas of the lake with a bamboo pole.

The dramatic shift from over-exploiting to protecting makes a wonderful story. More importantly, it represents significant improvements in people’s awareness and capacity of wetland conservation. This is a tiny part of HSBC Living Yangtze Programme. In the future, HSBC will continue to focus on source water protection and environmental education to join efforts in building a beautiful China together.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

让传唱中的洪湖,重新绽放生命力

支持长江母亲河保护

 

 

 

 

长江流域是国家重要的战略发展区域,长江大保护也必须兼顾到经济发展和生活的需求。在过去20年,汇丰先后资助了2亿多元人民币,致力于长江流域和中国主要湿地的大保护。共计守护河流长度2,432公里,保护湿地面积 767,620 公顷,培训湿地管理保育人才达5,000余人,同时绿色发展造福83,914人。

汇丰银行(中国)有限公司行长兼行政总裁王云峰:“保护生态环境,应对气候变化,支持可持续发展,是汇丰一直坚持的方向。2020年汇丰又启动了新一期应对气候变化行动,支持我们的客户,员工与社区实践绿色发展,携手迈向低碳时代。”

90年代初的洪湖,被插上了一千多万根竹竿,围上密密麻麻的网。人们开始大量捕鱼。水不再流动,变得越来越脏,鱼的产量急剧下降,一些渔民就开始以猎鸟为生,张圣元也是其中之一。经过宣传教育,张圣元知道了保护环境就是在保护生计,还成为了协管员。老张从此变了,放下猎枪,一支长篙,一艘小船,无论风雨,日夜巡逻,搜寻驱逐盗猎者。汇丰协助世界自然基金会和洪湖保护区管理局在阳柴湖建立湿地保护与恢复示范区,开展大规模的拆围工作。在恢复过程中,汇丰员工志愿者也经常来到洪湖,直接参与生态行动。大家每次都能看到张圣元的身影,撑着竹篙在湖面的不同区域划行。

从掠夺到守护,是一段美妙佳话,更是湿地保护从意识到能力变化的成果体现。这是汇丰“还长江生命之网”公益项目的一个缩影。未来汇丰将继续关注水资源的千丝万缕和环境教育,共同建设美丽中国。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。