Building a Sustainable Business Future

Support business achieve net zero transition with our innovative green financing solutions.
Contact Us

ESG Performance for Financial Incentives?








HSBC China recently provided a sustainability-linked loan to a shipping logistics group in support of the customer’s corporate sustainability and the country’s broader targets of “emission peak” and “carbon neutrality”.

At Shanghai Yangshan Deep-water Port, roars are heard one after another as fully-loaded container ships sail in every day. With low cost and low energy consumption, water transportation has become an essential part of the transportation industry. According to statistics, in 2020, the annual container throughput of Shanghai reached an unprecedented 43.5 million TEUs, making it the world’s top port for the 11th consecutive year.

However, with ever mounting challenges for the global environment, the transportation industry has come under increasing pressure for environmental protection, and thus green transformation becomes an urgent priority. As China’s 14th Five-Year Plan emphasizes the importance of “promoting green development and ensuring harmony between humanity and nature”, it has become an inevitable trend to balance economic growth with environmental protection and stay focused on green development. At the same time, for businesses, such development not only helps to protect the environment, but also drives lower costs and better earnings.

SITC International Holdings Company Limited (hereinafter referred to as "SITC"), a leading shipping logistics group, learned this from its own experience. As an international marine shipper, the company strives to align its daily business operations with the concept of sustainable development. While hailed as the company’s action to fulfill its corporate social responsibility, these efforts also helped to reduce its financing costs.

Under a structured credit facility provided to SITC recently, HSBC China launched a sustainability-linked loan (SLL) that links the cost of finance to the company’s performance in meeting its sustainability goals. The product is designed to incentivize the bank’s customers to reduce their emissions and to operate sustainably so as to contribute to China’s transition to a low-carbon economy.

“China is a global pioneer in promoting green development. The country announced to the world last year a timeline for its emission peak and carbon neutrality. The newly published '14th Five-Year Plan' and Long-Range Objectives through the Year 2035 further confirmed the importance of green development and provided concrete guidelines for future low-carbon actions.” said Jim Ma, Executive Vice President (designate) and Head of Commercial Banking, HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited.

 

“HSBC is committed to helping customers achieve low-carbon transformation by offering innovative banking products. We do our best to support the development of low-carbon technologies and make a meaningful contribution to China’s emission reduction efforts. As an innovative banking product, the sustainability-linked loan offers greater flexibility than a green loan or green bond. It is the latest addition to our diverse collection of banking tools for businesses to operate sustainably with renewed impetus.”

Operating sustainably for cost savings

In recent years, deep thinking about how to develop in harmony with the environment and society has prompted more and more companies to mainstream the concept of sustainability into their business development. As a result, the concept of environmental, social and corporate governance (ESG) has become increasingly popular.

After three decades of development, SITC has developed a set of internal rules and an environmental management system that focus on the reduction of various pollutants and greenhouse gases. The company has been striving to reduce emission of gaseous pollutants by reducing fuel consumption and using low-sulfur oil in its shipping activities.  

Given SITC's long-term efforts in energy saving and emission reduction, HSBC took the initiative to provide a sustainability-linked loan as part of the overall solution for the company’s need for credit. Based on the characteristics of the shipping industry, the bank’s sustainable financing team developed a set of sustainability goals appropriate to the company’s current situation and vision. HSBC provided a solution that helped the customer gain cost savings from sustainable operations. This is the first-ever loan of its kind for SITC.



What is Sustainability-linked Loan?

Sustainability-linked loan is a new product of green finance. In May 2020, the Loan Market Association, the Asia Pacific Loan Market Association and the Loan Syndications and Trading Association jointly released “Principles for Sustainability-Linked Lending”. According to document, a sustainability-linked loan is any loan instrument or standby financing method such as secured line, guaranteed line and letter of credit that provides incentives for borrowers to meet pre-determined sustainability goals. The lender may adjust the pre-set spread based on the borrower's performance against the sustainability goals.

In short, companies can access preferential interest rates for their loans by meeting pre-determined sustainability goals on greenhouse gas emissions or ESG. For them, this is a win-win solution in terms of both achieving environmental goals and reducing financing costs.

HSBC’s low-carbon commitment

In October 2020, the HSBC Group announced its plan to help its customers achieve net-zero emissions by 2050 and the same target for its own operations and supply chain by 2030, in line with the targets set by states parties in the Paris Agreement. At the same time, HSBC is also committed to providing between US$750 billion and US$1 trillion to support sustainable development financing and investment by 2030.

Join Us

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

一起构建可持续商业未来

绿色金融创新与突破,助力企业实现低碳转型
联系我们

ESG达标可“变现”?可持续发展关联贷款给答案




一艘艘满载集装箱的货船,在轰鸣声中驶入上海洋山深水港,这是每天都会上演的景象。凭借成本低、能耗小,水路运输已成为交通运输业的重要组成部分。数据显示,2020年,上海港全年集装箱吞吐量达到4350万标准箱,再创历史新高,并连续11年位居世界第一。

然而,随着全球生态环境挑战日益严峻,交通运输行业面临的生态保护压力不断增大,绿色转型迫在眉睫。正如“十四五”规划所强调的,“推动绿色发展,促进人与自然和谐共生”,实现环境保护和经济增长的平衡、坚持绿色发展已成为必然趋势。同时,对企业而言,绿色发展不仅是为了保护环境,也可以降低成本、提升效益。

领先的航运物流集团海丰国际控股有限公司(下称“海丰国际”)对此深有体会。作为一家依靠海洋、以国际航运物流为主业的企业,海丰国际竭力把可持续发展理念融入日常业务运营,不仅履行了企业社会责任,还降低了融资成本。

汇丰银行在近期为海丰国际提供的结构化抵押贷款解决方案中,适时引入了可持续发展关联贷款,将融资成本与企业能否实现可持续发展目标相挂钩,激励客户减少温室气体排放,推动可持续经营,从而助力中国经济实现低碳转型。




汇丰银行(中国)有限公司副行长(候任)兼工商金融总监马健表示:“中国在推动绿色发展方面走在世界前列,去年已向世界宣布了碳达峰碳中和的时间表,而最新公布的‘十四五’规划和2035年远景目标纲要更是进一步明确了绿色发展的重要性,并为未来的低碳行动提供了具体指引。

 

“汇丰致力于通过创新金融产品来协助客户实现低碳转型,支持低碳技术的发展,为中国的减排行动做出有意义的贡献。可持续发展关联贷款作为一种创新的金融产品,相较于绿色信贷、绿色债券等具备更灵活的调整策略,将为企业可持续经营提供更多元化的金融工具,注入新的动力。”

可持续经营带来的成本节约

近年来,对于如何与环境和整个社会和谐发展的深入思考,促使越来越多的企业在业务发展中引入可持续发展理念,环境、社会和公司治理(ESG)理念越来越深入人心。经过三十年的发展,海丰国际制订了一套以减排各种污染物和温室气体为重点的内部规定和环境管理体系。通过在船舶运输中降低燃油消耗和使用低硫油,努力减少气态污染物排放。

正是基于海丰国际在节能减排方面的长期努力,汇丰银行在了解到该企业的抵押贷款需求后,主动为其引入了可持续发展关联贷款,由汇丰专门的可持续金融团队,结合海运行业特点,制定了符合其实际情况和愿景的可持续发展目标。汇丰提供的解决方案,帮助客户将可持续经营转化为成本节约。这也是海丰国际获得的首笔此类贷款。



何为可持续发展关联贷款?

可持续发展关联贷款是一个新兴的绿色金融产品。2020年5月,贷款市场协会、亚太贷款市场协会和银团与交易协会联合发布了《可持续发展关联贷款原则》。根据该原则,可持续发展关联贷款是指任何能激励借款人达成事先设定的可持续发展目标的贷款工具和备用融资方式,如担保额度、保证额度和信用证。贷款人可根据借款人对可持续发展目标的表现调整预先设定的息差。

简言之,企业通过完成预先设定的温室气体排放量或ESG等可持续发展目标,即可获得贷款利率优惠。对于企业而言,既实现了环保目标,又能降低融资成本,可谓双赢。

汇丰低碳承诺

汇丰集团于去年10月宣布,为配合全球多国实现在《巴黎协定》订立的目标,将协助客户于2050年前实现净零排放,并于2030年前实现自身运营和供应链的净零排放。同时,汇丰集团承诺将在2030年前,提供7,500亿至10,000亿美元以支持可持续发展融资及投资。

加入我们

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。