Tsingshan’s Indonesia Morowali Industrial Park: Build, and They Will Come

Akurullah may not understand the full significance of the BRI, but he is more than aware about how IMIP, which is a BRI project, has changed his life. “My income here allows me to support my family. This is my home now.”

Article Reposted from Caijing Magazine,

Issue 30, 2019

INDONESIA. Until six years ago, the residents of Bahodopi District, Morowali Regency, Central Sulawesi lived without any of the ordinary accoutrements of modern living such as electric lighting, televisions or mobile phones. The only sign of modernity in Bahodopi was a couple of dated motorcycles.

However, since the construction of the Tsingshan Holding Group Co. Ltd (“Tsingshan Group”)’s industrial park, the lives of Bahodopi’s residents have been transformed: with power, there are more electric bulbs than fishermen’s fires.

Tsingshan Group is a stainless steel company that was founded in Wenzhou, China’s Zhejiang Province. Two decades ago, the company returned to its roots in Wenzhou after a stint in Shanghai. In 2016, Tsingshan Group became the first privately-owned company in Wenzhou with a turnover above RMB100 billion. In 2018, the company’s turnover reached RMB226.5 billion, winning Tsingshan Group 361st place on the Fortune Global 500.

Xiang Guangda, chairman of the board of Tsingshan Group, explains the decision to build the industrial park in Indonesia: direct access to the country’s rich nickel reserves would insulate the company from fluctuations in international nickel prices and put Tsingshan Group back in control. In 2008, Tsingshan Group rolled out its global strategy. The following year, Tsingshan Group created a joint venture, PT Sulawesi Mining Investment, with Bintang Delapan Group. Sulawesi Mining Investment was then granted extraction rights to 47,040 hectares of laterite nickel ore mining land.

On 2nd October 2013, Shanghai Decent Investment (Group) Co., Ltd. and Bintang Delapan Group signed an agreement to establish the China-Indonesia Economic and Trade Cooperation Zone Indonesia Morowali Industrial Park (“IMIP”), creating a key commercial cooperation project for the two countries. The signing ceremony was witnessed by President Xi Jinping and President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

Occupying an area of 2,012 hectares, IMIP will host a stainless steel production plant with the world’s longest value chain. Once construction is complete, the area will become an important manufacturing base with a total population of 60,000.

Nevertheless, in its early days, the development company faced a barren wilderness: no electricity, water, houses, or roads. There was nothing on which to build the most basic amenities for an industrial park (water supply, sewage, electricity, roads, telecommunications, heating, natural gas or coal gas, and level ground). Chinese business models and experience could not be leveraged at all.

Akurullah, the park’s first Indonesian worker, remembers the earliest days of the industrial park very clearly. “Before, this area was mostly forest. It was really inaccessible – the nearest county-level city was at least three hours’ drive away.” If one travelled along the Pacific coastline by clipper, the journey would take five hours.

According to a Chinese representative for IMIP, an important lesson learned was “to not simply try to duplicate the models used for industrial park development in China.” IMIP required a return to the drawing board: gradually, the park built its own power plants, water treatment and sewage systems, seaport and airport.

As the park’s infrastructure was laid down, investment was sought from leading businesses from different industries, who then took on some of the risk and benefitted from the development of the park. IMIP relied on local labor and quickly adapted to Indonesian labor practices.

Given its humble beginnings, how did IMIP manage to take shape in just five years? Halim Mina, chairman of PT.IMIP, the development company for the park, revealed an important external factor: the project had easy access to mid- and long-term financing.

When the project was in its earliest days, policy banks including China Development Bank, the Export–Import Bank of China, and state-owned Chinese banks including Bank of China pitched in with mid- and long-term financial support.

As the construction of the park progressed, particularly with various steel-related projects entering production, HSBC partnered with Tsingshan Group on several projects. HSBC Indonesia structured a loan solution specifically for the park, including trade finance-related working capital loans and accounts receivable services, resolving the problem of guarantees for loans. HSBC was the first foreign bank to work with Tsingshan Group on the project. Frank Fang, Executive Vice President and Head of Commercial Banking at HSBC China, explains that the Indonesia project collaboration leveraged the ties previously forged between Tsingshan Group’s headquarters and HSBC. HSBC China’s commodities finance team analyzed Tsingshan Group’s industrial profile and swiftly extended a comprehensive credit line to the group covering not only its Indonesian business, but also India, Singapore and Hong Kong.

After six years of development, IMIP now directly employs close to 35,000 Indonesian workers. The park has also indirectly created opportunities in business, services, and real estate, and has propelled local industrialization. IMIP has become a globally-significant base for nickel extraction and metallurgy and stainless steel production, and is one of the key early returns on the BRI.

Akurullah may not understand the full significance of the BRI, but he is more than aware about how IMIP, which is a BRI project, has changed his life. “My income here allows me to support my family. This is my home now.”

Another Indonesian employee at the park, Elvina, was asked by her friend why she resigned from a steady job at a company in Jakarta and came to such a faraway place to work. “At my old company, my career had stalled. The industrial park is different – there are many opportunities to train and learn new skills here. It’s good for my professional development and personal growth, which are exactly what I need.”

Contact us

Commercial Banking Service Hotline

400 821 8878

This hotline serves only commercial banking customer. If you are global banking customer, please directly contact your client service manager.

 

Leave your message

 


HSBC China WeChat Subscription Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.



HSBC China Corporate Banking WeChat Service Account


Fast online banking service and 7X24 client service by intelligent virtual assistant to facilitate our corporate clients a way of managing accounts.
Please follow it and start the online banking journey!



HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Android

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

青山印尼工业园:栽下梧桐树,自有凤凰来

尽管印尼员工阿斯古尔并不了解“一带一路”倡议是什么,但他清楚作为“一带一路”建设者的青山园区对自己的生活带来的改变。“这里的收入养活了我的家庭,我已经把这里当作自己的家。”

本文转自《财经》杂志
2019年第30期

六年前,在“千岛之国”印度尼西亚苏拉威西省摩洛哇丽(Morowali)县巴活多比(Bahodopi)镇,电灯、电视、手机这些现代社会的寻常物,在当地居民的生活中不见踪影,唯一有现代色彩的是两辆旧摩托车。

青山控股集团有限公司(下称“青山集团”)园区成立之后,小镇居民开始发现生活发生了巨变,用上了电,电灯比渔火更璀璨。

青山集团是一家诞生于浙温州的不锈钢企业,20年前又从上海回到温州二次创业。2016 年,青山集团成为温州首家营业额超1000 亿元的民营企业 ,2018年达2265亿,列世界500强第361位。

对于为何南下印尼建设园区,青山集团董事局主席项光达此前曾对外表示,印尼丰富的镍矿资源,可以让企业摆脱被动的国际镍价波动局面,掌握成本控制的自主权。自2008 年开始,青山控股确立了全球化布局的战略。2009年,青山控股与印尼八星投资有限公司合资设立苏拉威西矿业投资有限公司,获得了印度尼西亚面积为47040公顷的红土镍矿的开采权。

2013年10月2日,在两国元首的共同见证下,旗下的上海鼎信集团与印尼八星集团签署了合资设立印尼经贸合作区青山园区(下称“青山园区”)的协议,成为中国印尼重要的商务合作项目。

根据规划,占地面积2012公顷的青山园区,将成为全球产业链最长的大型不锈钢生产基地,建成后将成为总人口6万人以上的大型制造业重镇。

不过,在开创之初,青山园区开发公司面对的只是一片荒地:没有电、没有水、没有房屋、没有道路,建设园区所必备的“七通一平”(给水、排水、通电、通路、通信、通暖气、通天然气或煤气、场地平整)都无从谈起。中国开发工业园区的模式和经验,在这里毫无用武之地。

作为青山园区首批印尼员工,阿斯古尔(Akurullah)对初创期的园区特别深刻,“以前这里大多数是属于森林区域,什么都很不方便,从这里到最近的县城需要三个小时的路程。”据了解,如果沿着太平洋海岸线坐快艇前往,则需要五个小时。

青山工业园区中方项目负责人表示,青山园区的重要经验就是“不能照搬中国国内的工业开发区开发模式”。百废俱兴,一切需要自力更生,青山园区逐渐建立了自己的发电厂、净水处理和排污处理系统,修建了码头和机场。

在建设基础设施的过程中,青山园区开始同时招商,将产业链上优势互补的企业吸引入园投资,共同投资,共担风险,抱团发展。同时,依靠当地员工,迅速适应了印尼的劳动用工环境。

在一片荒郊野岭从零起步,青山园区为何仅用了五年多就迅速成型?青山园区开发有限公司董事长此前曾对外谈及,重要的外部原因之一是中长期融资能迅速到位并运用。

在园区项目伊始,青山园区就得到了中国国家开发银行、中国进出口银行、中国银行等国内的政策性银行和国有中资银行的中长期资金支持。

随着园区建设的逐渐推进,尤其是不锈钢项目陆续投产之后,汇丰银行也在该园区项目上和青山开展了多项合作。由汇丰银行印尼分行为青山园区设计了差异化的贷款结构,包括贸易融资项下流动资金贷款和应收账款等业务,为其解决了贷款担保的问题。汇丰成为和青山在印尼园区项目上合作的第一家外资银行。汇丰中国副行长兼工商金融主管方啸介绍,双方的合作亦基于此前与青山集团总部合作打下的基础。汇丰中国大宗商品融资团队根据青山集团的整体产业布局,迅速为其确定了整体授信的基调,除了印尼,还包括印度、新加坡和中国香港三地。

经过六年的建设,如今园区直接就业的印尼员工达3.5万人,间接带动几万人从事商业、服务业、房地产业,推动了当地工业化。青山园区已成为全球重要的镍矿开采冶炼和不锈钢产业基地,成为“一带一路”倡议的早期重要成果。

尽管阿斯古尔并不了解“一带一路”倡议是什么,但他清楚作为“一带一路”建设者的青山园区对自己的生活带来的改变。“这里的收入养活了我的家庭,我已经把这里当作自己的家。”

青山园区印尼员工埃维娜(Elvina)的朋友曾问她,为什么她从印尼首都雅加达那家发展很稳定的公司,来到那么远的地方工作。“在原来的公司,我的职业生涯已经没有什么提升的机会,青山工业园不一样,为员工提供很多培训和学习的机会,帮助员工发展和成长,这正是我所需要的。”

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。