Connecting the world

As part of a four-article series, HSBC examines how the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) is evolving in response to the lessons and challenges experienced so far and what this could mean for the global economy, from climate change to regional economic development and from project governance to trade connectivity. Our second article explores how the BRI is moving from infrastructure projects to a broader focus on increased cross-border and international connectivity.

31 Oct 2019
Mukhtar Hussein

Produced by (E) BrandConnect


In its early years, the BRI was largely a transportation and energy infrastructure play, focusing on physical assets, from railways and roads to power systems. The end goal, though, is not simply to amass disconnected assets; it is to use infrastructure to drive connectivity at the cross-border, regional and global levels. From Thailand’s Eastern Economic Corridor initiative1 to the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor, BRI projects are now helping to knit countries together.2

We see the BRI as a new, multilateral framework for globalisation that will influence the profile of investment, trade, wealth and migration everywhere. The joint communique issued after the Second Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation in April this year referred more than 20 times to connectivity, stating that the BRI promotes “exchanges, mutual learning and dialogue among different peoples, cultures and civilisations”.3

Physical economic integration deepens international relationships and facilitates financial flows and the movement of people – whether they be business professionals, workers, or students and young people. China has long sought to connect to the wider world. Its businesses can be found everywhere, from rural Africa to offshore wind farms by the English coast. China’s overseas student population has seen a steady increase, with over 660,000 Chinese studying abroad in 2018, and the country is building scientific and academic partnerships with universities around the globe.4



The BRI can promote this flow of businesses, ideas and people across participating countries. Transport infrastructure, on land and sea, helps companies to export goods faster and at lower cost, which can strengthen globalisation. One study found that each day saved on journey times is equivalent to an average tariff reduction of 0.4-1.0% for exports and 0.8-1.5% for imports.5 Improved transport encourages firms to find new locations outside congested urban areas, bringing jobs to less-developed regions and supporting economic decentralisation.

Transport infrastructure can also support bilateral trade over long distances. Chinese exports to France, for instance, include construction and manufacturing machinery, textiles and appliances, while French exports to China include passenger vehicles, aircraft, chemicals, water treatment hardware, and food and beverages. Politicians and corporate leaders from both countries have publicly stated that the BRI can support their US$62.9bn bilateral trade relationship going forward.6 Equally important is the flow of people, to carry ideas and forge relationships.

Connectivity is also being enhanced by new cooperative models in the BRI era. Bidding by consortia, for example, is one approach that can benefit projects by mixing the best contractors from China with the best skills, resources and execution capabilities from Europe, North America or elsewhere. Another mechanism is "third-party market co­operation" agreements, under which countries across Asia, Europe and North America have signed up to work with China to build infrastructure in developing countries. These partnerships will combine China’s manufacturing and production expertise with developed countries’ advanced technologies to meet the needs of emerging markets.

The partnership ethic is not just between big businesses or governments. It can apply to communities and civil-society groups, which must play a role in BRI project design and monitoring to ensure mutual benefits. It can also apply to small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) which stand to gain from the BRI. China sees connectivity as a means of helping its SMEs to go global, and has promised to support them through mechanisms like establishing domestic demonstration centres for their products and technologies. China can use its global network to guide SMEs into new markets, as with its SME centre in Berlin, which helps Chinese companies to access the German economy.7

SMEs from other countries also stand to benefit from the BRI’s connectivity. Infrastructure projects create opportunities for SMEs seeking to access the Chinese economy, and construction itself creates business openings in everything from materials supply to the daily necessities of the building industry and its workers.

This connectivity is a boon to global production, providing emerging countries with the infrastructure necessary to reach new markets and stimulate regional business. The BRI is seen by many as a global infrastructure project, but by facilitating lasting connections the initiative’s benefits stretch far beyond physical assets.

Contact us

Commercial Banking Service Hotline

400 821 8878

This hotline serves only commercial banking customer. If you are global banking customer, please directly contact your client service manager.

 

Leave your message

 


HSBC China WeChat Subscription Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.



HSBC China Corporate Banking WeChat Service Account


Fast online banking service and 7X24 client service by intelligent virtual assistant to facilitate our corporate clients a way of managing accounts.
Please follow it and start the online banking journey!



HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Android

Produced by (E) BrandConnect, a commercial division of The Economist Group, which operates separately from the editorial staffs of The Economist and The Economist Intelligence Unit. Neither (E) BrandConnect nor its affiliates accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any party on this content.

In its early years, the BRI was largely a transportation and energy infrastructure play, focusing on physical assets, from railways and roads to power systems. The end goal, though, is not simply to amass disconnected assets; it is to use infrastructure to drive connectivity at the cross-border, regional and global levels. From Thailand’s Eastern Economic Corridor initiative to the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor, BRI projects are now helping to knit countries together.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

连接世界

本系列共有四篇文章,主要讲述汇丰对“一带一路”发展的研究,包括“一带一路”自提出以来如何总结经验、应对挑战,及其对全球经济的潜在影响,涉及气候变化、区域经济发展、项目治理和贸易联通等方面。本文是该系列文章的第二篇,主要探讨“一带一路”如何从最初主要开展基础设施项目建设,发展到如今侧重推进国际互联互通。

穆贵德(Mukhtar Hussan )

由经济学人集团下属 BrandConnect 供稿


在最初几年,“一带一路”的重点在于建设交通和能源基础设施,比如铁路、公路、电网等有形资产。然而,“一带一路”的最终目标并不仅仅在于打通此前互不相连的有形资产,而是通过基础设施建设来推进国家间、地区间乃至全球的互联互通。泰国“东部经济走廊”倡议1 和中巴经济走廊等“一带一路”项目正不断加强国家间的联结。2

我们认为,“一带一路”是一个新的全球化多边框架,将影响全球各地的投资、贸易、财富和人口移徙格局。今年4月,在第二届“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛闭幕环节,发布了联合公报,其中“互联互通”一词在公报中被提及20多次。公报强调,“一带一路”致力于促进“各国人民以及不同文化和文明间的对话交流、互学互鉴”。3

有形的经济一体化有助于深化国际关系、促进资金和人员流动——包括商务人士、员工、学生和年轻人。长期以来,中国一直在寻求走向世界。无论在非洲农村,还是在英国海岸的海上风电场,中国企业的足迹遍布全球各地。海外中国留学生人数稳步增长,2018年,全球各地的中国留学生超过66万人。中国也正在与世界各地的大学建立科研与学术合作。4



“一带一路”可以促进参与国之间企业、思想及人员的流动。陆上和海上交通基础设施能帮助企业以更高的效率和更低的成本出口商品,从而加强全球化。一项研究发现,每节省一天的运输时间,就相当于降低了0.4-1%的出口关税和0.8-1.5%的进口关税。5 随着交通的改善,企业更有动力在拥挤的城市之外寻找新的办公地点,这一转变有望为欠发达地区带来就业机会,同时推动经济“去中心化”。


交通基础设施也有利于支持远距离双边贸易。例如,中国可以对法国出口建筑和制造机械、纺织品、家电等产品,法国也可以对中国出口汽车、飞机、化学品、水处理设备以及食品和饮料等产品。中法两国政商界领袖都已公开表示,中法双边贸易额目前已达629亿美元,“一带一路”今后有望推动双边贸易关系的持续发展。6 此外,“一带一路”也可以促进人员流动,从而加强思想交流,推动建立友好关系。

“一带一路”大背景下兴起的新型合作模式也促进了互联互通。例如,通过组建联合体进行投标,可以让来自中国的最佳承包商与来自欧洲、北美或其他地区拥有最佳技能、资源和执行能力的企业进行合作,从而让“一带一路”项目获益。另一项机制是欧洲、北美和其他亚洲国家与中国签订“第三方市场合作”协议,共同在发展中国家建设基础设施。有助于将中国的制造和生产专长与发达国家的先进技术结合起来,从而满足新兴市场的需求。

“一带一路”的合作范畴不仅限于大型企业之间或政府之间,也包括社群之间及公民社会团体之间的合作。为确保互惠互利,社区和公民社会团体必须积极参与“一带一路”项目的设计与监督。当然,中小企业之间也可以开展合作,以受益于“一带一路”。中国认为,互联互通可以帮助本国中小企业“走出去”,并承诺通过建立国家中小企业产品和技术示范基地等机制来支持其发展。中国可以通过业已建立的全球网络来引导中小企业进入新市场,比如,位于柏林的中国中小企业中心已开始运营,旨在帮助中国企业进入德国市场。7

其他国家的中小企业也有望从“一带一路”的互联互通中获益。基础设施项目为那些渴望进入中国市场的外国中小企业创造了机会,此外,基建本身就会带来许多商机,包括原材料供应、建筑行业及建筑工人的日常必需品供应等。

“互联互通”有利于全球生产,能够为新兴国家提供必要的基础设施,帮助它们进军新市场、刺激地区经济发展。许多人认为“一带一路”是一个全球基础设施项目,但除了打通有形资产,它还能促进参与国家间和地区间建立持久的联系,并由此带来更大范围的好处。

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

在最初几年,“一带一路”的重点在于建设交通和能源基础设施,比如铁路、公路、电网等有形资产。然而,“一带一路”的最终目标并不仅仅在于打通此前互不相连的有形资产,而是通过基础设施建设来推进国家间、地区间乃至全球的互联互通。泰国“东部经济走廊”倡议和中巴经济走廊等“一带一路”项目正不断加强国家间的联结。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。