2021 Sustainable Financing and Investing Survey - China Focus

Regulatory, policy and market support are catalysing the sustainable finance revolution
Contact Us

After decades of rapid growth, China’s government has in recent years begun to focus on making the country’s economy more sustainable. Now, with the publication of its most recent Five-Year Plan, China has set a goal of reaching carbon neutrality by 2060.

The move comes as sustainable finance – and attitudes to sustainability more generally – undergo a transformation in China.

China still faces challenges. But the combination of more robust regulatory and policy support, a buoyant green and sustainable market, and a flexible and pragmatic approach by issuers and investors point the way to a bright future.

This sense of change is evident in the responses of 200 China companies – that are active on the capital markets – and institutional investors, who we surveyed on the topic of sustainable financing and investing. This is the second year we have run this China survey.

Download the China report    Download the global report

 

Sustainability shifts to strategic priority

Issuers’ and investors’ focus on sustainability in their organisations, in industries, and across supply chains, has strengthened in the past 12 months, provoked by the experience of the pandemic, supportive government policy, and regulatory efforts to deepen and develop the sustainable finance market. For a fifth of issuers sustainability has even become their most important strategic priority.

 

 

Issuers and investors seek to develop and fund net zero transition plans

Responding to the government’s net zero 2060 commitment, issuers and investors are increasing their focus and attention on what they need to do, including developing their own net zero plans, and seeking extra investment to enable their low carbon transition.

 

Sustainable finance evolves and matures but challenges remain

Across products and markets, development continues apace, and most issuers see no obstacles to using sustainable debt financing. However, while half of investors say the same, half do see serious difficulties, including on pricing, the work involved in investing in such products, and in trading such securities on the secondary market.

 

 

Broad support for policy initiatives to grow sustainable finance

Issuers and investors are showing broad-based support for various China central bank’s green finance and climate change mitigation initiatives, with most (30%) showing complete alignment on incorporating climate change into policy and seeing this as the most important initiative to develop green finance in China over the next two years.

 

Issuers and investors see benefits in greater disclosure

Should the government require companies to disclose more information on environmental and social issues, issuers say two of the main benefits would be helping them internally to be more sustainable, and helping their investors better understand their sustainability activities. For investors, most believe it would help them choose between more and less sustainable companies, and that it would make it easier for them to invest sustainably.

 

 

Barriers to investment fall but skills gap emerges

While 59% of respondents this year say they see no obstacles to investing in the green and sustainable economy – a significant shift from last year when just over half said the opposite – some 41% do see issues, and top among them a lack of the necessary ESG skills and understanding. Other prominent issues include the long term nature of projects, too much risk (especially for issuers), and internal investment policies preventing investment in these areas (particularly for investors).

 

Green and sustainable investment opportunities evolve

Over the next five years, issuers and investors believe clean coal, improved electricity grids, energy efficiency in industry and in buildings, as well as recycling and the circular economy, are among the most attractive investment opportunities, replacing areas such as carbon capture and renewable energy technologies that were in focus last year.

 

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

2021可持续投融资调研报告
聚焦中国

监管、政策、市场共同驱动可持续金融发展
联系我们

历经数十载的经济高速增长后,中国正逐年提升可持续发展水平。在最新的五年规划中,中国明确了在2060年前实现碳中和的目标。

这样的趋势带动了中国可持续金融的发展,同时也正不断提升人们对于可持续发展的普遍认知。

中国的可持续发展之路仍不乏挑战。但在更加完善的监管和政策支持、蓬勃发展的可持续金融市场,以及发行人和投资者灵活务实的行动等多重因素驱动下,可持续发展未来可期。

这一趋势在200家中国企业(分别活跃于各类资本市场)和机构投资者的问卷调研回复中清晰可见。这是我们第二年在中国开展此项以可持续投融资为主题的问卷调研。


点击下载中国报告     点击下载全球报告

 

可持续发展成为战略重点

在过去的12个月里,发行人和投资者更加重视其组织、行业和供应链的可持续发展,诱因包括新冠疫情、政府的政策支持以及致力于深化和发展可持续金融市场的监管努力。对于两成的受访发行人而言,可持续发展甚至已成为他们最重要的战略重点。

 



 

发行人和投资者谋求制定并投入净零转型计划

为响应中国2060净零排放目标,发行人和投资者们日益关注并重视自身需要采取的行动,包括制定自身的净零排放计划,并寻求更多投资以实现低碳转型。

 

可持续金融不断发展、日趋成熟,但仍存在挑战

绿色债券市场被视为中国可持续金融最发达的领域,同时企业和投资者对可持续金融的投入程度也比去年显著加大,表明了市场参与者对于可持续金融的应用趋向成熟。各类产品和市场继续快速发展,大多数发行人及半数的投资者认为利用可持续债务融资不存在障碍。然而,也有一半的受访投资者认为投资可持续金融产品存在一定难度,主要来自于定价、流程繁复、以及在二级市场上的交易难度。

 


 

可持续金融发展政策得到了广泛支持

发行人和投资者普遍支持央行的各种绿色金融和气候变化减缓举措,得票率最高的一项为将气候变化纳入政策,30%的受访投资者与发行人均将其视为未来两年在中国发展绿色金融的最重要举措。约两成的受访者表示,最重要的举措是要加强信息披露,包括建立强制披露制度。

 

发行人和投资者均认为将从加强信息披露中获益

受访的发行人表示,如果政府要求企业披露更多关于环境和社会影响方面的信息,将带来两大益处:帮助企业提高自身可持续发展水平,以及帮助投资者更好地了解企业的可持续发展活动。对于投资者而言,大多数受访者认为,这将有助于他们了解企业可持续发展水平的高低,并有助于他们更加容易地开展可持续投资。

 

 

 

投资绿色经济更加顺畅,但技能缺口出现

认为投资绿色和可持续经济不存在阻碍的受访者比例从去年的不足五成上升到今年的59%,变化显著。而对于41%的受访者而言,其面临的最主要问题是缺乏必要的ESG(环境、社会和治理)技能和认识。其他的突出问题包括项目期限长、风险太大(尤其是对发行人而言),以及内部投资政策阻碍了对这些领域的投资(尤其是对投资者而言)。

 

绿色和可持续投资机遇不断演变

发行人和投资者认为,未来五年,清洁煤、电网改造、工业与建筑能效以及回收和循环经济将是最具吸引力的投资机遇,取代碳捕集和可再生能源技术等去年的关注焦点。

 

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。