Sustainable Financing & Investing Survey

China's green finance potential is growing. How interested is China's capital market in sustainability?
Contact Us

Thinking about sustainability is moving rapidly into the mainstream of capital markets practice in China. Our survey of 180 issuers and investors underscores how official support and the appetite of issuers and investors are driving China’s increasingly dynamic sustainable finance market.

As awareness of sustainability develops, it is gaining new areas of focus like health, supply chains and carbon capture.

But the market still faces challenges, such as returns and disclosure, and participants — especially issuers — are eager for more government support.


Download the China report    Download the global report



 

  • Green and sustainable finance is becoming mainstream in China. 72% of respondents are open to investing in a green and sustainable economy.
  • The finance sector is seen as having real scope to generate significant innovations in sustainability.
  • Supply chain sustainability is a top issue for the region – 90% of issuers prefer to work with companies that have sustainable supply chains.
  • Of 12 areas with the most potential for sustainable innovation over the next five years, 69% picked finance – more than any other sector.


 

Financial muscle

Green and sustainable finance are moving into the mainstream in Chinese financial markets, with both investors and issuers showing more interest. Only 22% of investors said they were unwilling to consider investing in a green or sustainable way. Meanwhile, two-thirds of issuers are open to raising finance through green and sustainable debt.

This confidence is driven in part by the success story of China’s green bond market. The first renminbi-denominated green bond was listed on the London Stock Exchange in 2015, but by 2019, China had issued US$31.3 billion in green bonds that met international standards, second only to the US’s $51.3 billion1. A further $24.2 billion in green bonds issued in China last year did not meet global standards, either because they partly funded fossil fuel projects or because they did not meet CBI’s threshold requiring that 95% of proceeds go towards green assets.

Significant support from the government has helped to fuel investor appetite, allowing China to rapidly develop one of the largest green bond markets in the world. Both investors and issuers are comfortable in this market, with 71% of issuers/investors saying it is a very well or well developed exchange.

China’s green bond market is considered a highly effective aspect of green finance, with investors rating it first among seven measures of Chinese green and sustainable finance’s effectiveness. It comes out ahead of official measures and guidance, as well as the efforts of banks, companies and investors’ commitments to be more sustainable.

Obstacles among eligible issuers in considering green bonds are a lack of financial incentives and a perception that this form of debt as too expensive. This may be linked to the number of issuers that reported they were worried that they lack the expertise to issue green bonds.

 

 

 

 

New priorities

Although investors and issuers clearly feel that the finance sector is a powerful engine for sustainability growth, new areas of focus are emerging.

The global coronavirus pandemic has catapulted health issues up the sustainability agenda and highlighted the relationship between healthy workers and sustainable businesses. Both issuers and investors believe health is a key area and only prominent environmental issues like reducing greenhouse gas emissions, air pollution and energy efficiency rank more highly.

The profound impacts of Covid-19 – death and severe illness, a challenged healthcare system and widespread lockdowns – have disrupted operations and supply chains for every type of business. Although government interventions have somewhat cushioned the blows, 40% of respondents believe that health warrants greater emphasis, way ahead of issues like transport, buildings and agriculture.

 

Sustainable supply

Chinese production has long been a crucial element in global supply chains, making supply chain sustainability a top issue for the region. More than 90% of issuers prefer to work with companies that have sustainable supply chains and 87% of investors prefer to put their money into companies that are trying to make their supply chains more sustainable.

However, despite these motivations, many are unwilling to impose formal requirements. Only 13% of issuers require evidence to back assertions of sustainable behaviour, while only 16% of investors ask companies to demonstrate that their suppliers behave in a sustainable way.

This hands-off approach to supply chains could be partly down to their low level of prominence in sustainability for investors and issuers. Only 19% of respondents see significant scope for exciting innovation in supply chain sustainability over the next five years. Investors, in particular, rank supply chain, along with agriculture, last of 12 potential areas of sustainable innovation.

Yet, several industry sectors do stand out for their emphasis on supply chain sustainability: agriculture and food/beverages, energy/chemicals and healthcare. All respondents in these sectors require suppliers to behave in a sustainable way, some even demanding evidence.

 

 

 

 

Capturing sustainability

The stakes are much higher in the energy sector, where China is taking steps to try to reduce its reliance on coal-fired power. Despite its contribution to global warming and air pollution, over half of China’s energy supply still comes from coal and changing this requires significant investment.

Although carbon capture technology is still in the early stages, it is hugely appealing. A sixth of respondents picked it as the largest and most attractive investment opportunity in the green and sustainable economy over the next five years — more than any of the other 17 areas they were asked about.

Other alternative energy sources, from solar to wave and wind to hydrogen, all register strong support. The most popular issue after carbon capture is not another energy source, but recycling and the circular economy, followed by sustainable waste management.

 

Next steps in sustainability

Interest in green and sustainable finance in China continues to rise, but there are obstacles ahead. Over half of respondents believe there are barriers to further investment, with the top concern being return on investment.

Over 70% of those who report obstacles feel that returns on green and sustainable investing are insufficient. On top of that, 60% of investors and 42% of issuers feel that disclosure is inadequate. There are also problems for issuers in communication, with many of them feeling that green and sustainable investment opportunities are not clear.

Investors are frequently held to short-term targets and that can be a significant barrier to green financing. A third of both investors and issuers said that the length of commitment in this form of investment was too long for their appetite.

 

 

 

 

 

Help along the way

Much of the green finance movement in China has been driven by strong government policy, but both issuers and investors feel that sustainability would benefit from financial aid from the Chinese government. Nearly half of our respondents said that a tax or other financial incentive would help more organisations embrace sustainability.

Issuers, in particular, feel the need for this support. 50% want financial incentives, ten percentage points over any other policy action. Of the issuers who might issue green and sustainable debt products, a lack of financial incentives is one of the main obstacles, ranking up alongside not needing to raise debt.

There are financial incentives currently in place, but respondents say that they are fairly ineffective. Over 40% of issuers and investors believe they need improvement and only 11% judge them to be well-developed. Direct investment from the government would also help to spur sustainability, an idea that 46% of respondents like.

Investors and issuers are also seeking more guidance on sustainability. The second most popular policy action, cited by 42% of respondents, was better access to private investors.

 

Innovations in sustainability

When Chinese investors and issuers look to the future of sustainability, they see the finance sector front and centre. Out of 12 areas that could hold the most potential for innovation over the next five years, 69% picked the finance sector, over even the technology industry.

Both issuers and investors see banks as highly committed to green and sustainable finance, ranking them higher than they rank each other. This, along with the success of the green bond market, gives the financial sector a lot of clout in sustainability.

It’s finance first, but three other sectors also hold potential for a sustainable future – energy, manufacturing and technology. After the finance sector, 62% of respondents expect exciting things in the energy sector, followed by 60% for manufacturing and just over half for technology.

At the other end of the scale, respondents see limited potential in the agriculture and buildings sectors. Both of these industries are highly impacted by China’s immense population, which has led to rapid industrialisation of farming to feed the multitudes and challenges in adequate housing.

 

 

 

 

 

The future of sustainability

By prioritising environmental reform and sustainability and promoting green and sustainable investment through government policy and incentives, China has grown an impressive green finance market with global ambitions. There is a clear appetite for green and sustainable finance, despite issuers and investors feeling that the timescale on returns is overly long and expressing a desire for more incentives to encourage investment in these markets.

To further strengthen these markets, more can be done. The government has already taken significant steps to meet international standards, including halting financing for “clean coal” projects through green bonds. Further transparency, such as pending rules mandating disclosure for all companies, will help to overcome a key obstacle for both foreign and domestic investors.

China’s ambitions are clear. It has become a keen advocate at an international level – green finance was the only new topic that China added to the agenda of the G20 finance track when it held the presidency in 2016. Our survey shows that investors and issuers will follow where the government leads.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

可持续投融资调研报告

中国的绿色金融发展潜力巨大
资本市场的参与者如何看待可持续发展?
联系我们

中国现已成为全球最大的碳交易市场,也是全球最大的绿色债券市场之一,同时拥有数量众多的绿色和可持续私募股权基金。政府通过监管和政策支持促进了市场参与者对绿色金融的兴趣,继而大大推动了可持续发展。

我们对 180 个资本市场发行人和投资者的问卷调查结果显示,绿色和可持续金融在中国受到广泛认可。大多数投资者 (72%) 对投资绿色和可持续经济都持开放态度。

此外,发行人和投资者也期待金融业能促进未来的可持续发展。受中国绿色债券市场取得成功的驱动,投资者认为金融行业在未来五年存在可持续发展创新的巨大空间,甚至超过了技术行业。


点击下载中国报告     点击下载全球报告



 

  • 绿色和可持续金融正在中国成为主流。
  • 72% 的受访者对绿色和可持续经济投资持开放态度。
  • 受访者认为,金融业在可持续发展重大创新方面拥有巨大的空间。供应链可持续是国内的热点,90% 的发行人更倾向与拥有可持续供应链的公司合作。
  • 69% 的受访者选择了金融作为12个领域中最有潜力在未来五年进行可持续创新,这高于任何其它行业。


 

金融力量

绿色和可持续金融正跻身中国金融市场的主流,发行人和投资者都对该领域表现出越来越大的兴趣。三分之二的受访发行人对通过绿色和可持续债务产品进行融资持开放态度,受访的投资者中,也仅有22%暂时还不考虑进行绿色或可持续发展相关的投资。

这种信心一部分来源于中国绿色债券市场的成功。首个以人民币计价的绿色债券于2015年在伦敦证券交易所上市,截至2019年,中国就已累计发行313亿美元符合国际标准的绿色债券,仅次于美国的513亿美元。政府的大力支持帮助提高了投资者的兴趣,让中国迅速发展成为全球最大的绿色债券市场之一。投资者和发行人对中国绿色债券市场的评价都很正面—— 71% 的发行人/投资者认为发展非常好或发展良好。

受访者认为中国的绿色债券市场是绿色金融非常有效的一个方面,投资者将其评为中国绿色和可持续金融有效性七大衡量措施之首,其评价超过了银行、企业和投资者承诺提高可持续发展的投入力度。

发行人认为绿色债券还存在一些阻力,有待进一步改善,包括:缺乏足够的财务激励措施,以及认为这种发债形式成本过高。这或许说明了为何不少发行人表示担心自己缺乏绿色债券发行的相关专业知识。

 

 

 

新的焦点

投资者和发行人明确表示金融业是可持续发展的强大驱动力,与此同时,新的关注领域也在涌现。

全球新冠疫情促使健康问题摆在了可持续发展日程上。新冠疫情对各行各业的运营和供应链产生了深远的影响,也凸显了健康员工与可持续企业之间的关系,因此投资者和发行人认为未来健康也会是一个值得关注的领域。

 

可持续的供应链

中国制造长期以来都是全球供应链中的关键环节,这使得供应链的可持续性成为中国企业和投资者的关注点。超过90%的发行人更喜欢与拥有可持续供应链的公司合作,同时,87%的投资者更喜欢投资于不断努力提高供应链可持续的公司。

然而,仍然有许多受访者表示他们不会明确对供应商提出有关可持续的强制要求。仅有13%的发行人表示他们会要求供应商提供企业可持续经营的证据,而仅有16%的投资者要求所投公司能证明他们的供应商以可持续的方式经营。

不过,有几个行业的供应链可持续意识尤为强烈,包括农业和食品/饮料、能源/化工以及医疗保健。这些行业的所有受访者都表示他们要求供应商以可持续的方式经营,有些还要求供应商提供证据。

 

 

 

碳捕集技术

可持续对能源行业的重要性远高于其他行业,中国正采取积极措施,以减少对燃煤的使用。这正引发市场参与者对碳捕集、使用和存储技术的前景产生兴趣。

虽然碳捕集技术还处于早期阶段,但是却对受访者有巨大的吸引力。六分之一的受访者认为它是绿色和可持续经济在未来五年里最大和最有吸引力的投资机遇,超过了调查中涉及的其余17个领域。

得票率仅次于碳捕集的是回收和循环经济,然后是可持续的垃圾处理。其它替代能源(从太阳能到波浪能和风能,再到氢能)也得票甚多。

 

可持续发展的阻力

受访者对中国绿色和可持续金融的兴趣不断增加,但是仍然存在一定阻力。超过一半的受访者认为进一步投资存在一定障碍,而最主要的担忧在于投资回报。

指出存在阻力的受访者中有超过70%的人认为绿色和可持续投资的回报不足。此外,60%的投资者和42%的发行人认为披露不足。许多发行人认为绿色和可持续投资机遇宣传不到位,还有待进一步加强。

投资者常常受制于短期目标,这可能是绿色融资的一大障碍。三分之一的发行人和投资者表示这类投资的交付时间太长,不太契合他们的要求。

 

 

 

 

 

一路扶持

中国的绿色金融进展很大程度上得益于政府有力的政策推动。此外,财政补助也是发行人和投资者推动可持续发展的一个因素。近一半的受访者表示,税收优惠或其它财政激励有助于让更多的组织投身于可持续发展。

发行人尤其表示这方面的支持很有帮助,50%的发行人希望获得财政激励,得票率高出其它政策措施。政府的直接投资也有助于推动可持续发展,46%的受访者支持这个观点。

投资者和发行人也在寻求更多有关可持续发展的指导。得票率第二高的政策措施是“更好地引入私人投资者”,受访者中支持率达42%。

 

可持续发展的创新

展望可持续发展的未来时,中国投资者和发行人认为金融业处于前沿和中心的位置。在评估12个领域中哪些在未来五年最有潜力进行可持续的创新时,69%的受访者选择了金融业,得票率甚至超过技术行业。

发行人和投资者都认为银行业高度投身于绿色和可持续金融,对其评分比对彼此的评分要高。这一点加上绿色债券市场的成功,使得金融业在可持续发展领域具有巨大的影响力。

金融业排名第一,但还有三个行业具有可持续发展的潜力——能源业、制造业和技术行业。在金融业之后,62%的受访者预计能源行业有望出现令人激动的可持续创新,制造业的相应得票率为60%,技术行业的得票率则略高于50%。

 

 

 

可持续发展的未来

通过优先关注环境改良和可持续发展,并利用政府政策和激励来促进绿色和可持续投资,中国已成功建立起出色的绿色金融市场,并正积极推动其走向全球。尽管有些发行人和投资者认为回报期太长,并希望有更多激励措施来鼓励投资绿色金融市场,但总体来看,受访发行人和投资者都已明确表示了对于绿色和可持续金融的兴趣。

我们看到,政府已经采取很多措施来推动绿色金融市场发展,包括在绿色债券标准中不再支持化石能源清洁利用。与此同时,还有一些可以继续改进提升的空间,例如进一步提升对信息披露的要求,这将有助于为境内外投资者减少阻力,提高投资兴趣。

绿色金融在助力中国经济实现绿色转型和高质量发展的过程中将发挥重要作用。而我们的调查显示出,投资者和发行人将追随政府的指引前行。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。