A Ten-Year Effort: the Much Anticipated Marriage between Proton and Geely

Perhaps Seagull, by the great Malaysian poet Tian Si, is the best expression of Geely Holding Group’s spirit as it forges ahead on the Maritime Silk Route: “He is a seagull, whose life is struggle; only the ocean knows the hardship of his life.”

Article Reposted from Caijing Magazine,

Issue 30, 2019

10am. Kuala Lumpur, 23rd June 2017. Zhejiang Geely Holding Group Co. Ltd (“Geely Holding Group”) and Malaysia’s DRB-HICOM group signed a definitive agreement giving Geely Holding Group a 49.9% stake in DRB-HICOM’s Proton Holdings Berhad (“Proton”) and a 51% stake in luxury sports car brand Lotus. Geely Holding Group will thus become Proton’s sole foreign strategic partner.

At the turn of this century, Geely Holding Group had hoped to invest in a joint venture to build a factory in Malaysia, but the deal was eventually shelved due to a host of constraints. Victor Yang, vice president at Geely Holding Group, explained the decision to return for another foray in Malaysia. Currently, the global automobile industry faces huge innovation-related opportunities: it is difficult for any carmaker to succeed by going it alone. Both Geely and Proton need to team up with partners around the world, coordinate, and share their expertise to seize the technological high ground: “The current environment has created an opportunity for Geely and Proton to work together.”

In Malaysia, the automobile industry is seen as one of the most important and strategically relevant industries. Of the ASEAN countries, Malaysia is home to the 3rd-largest automobile market. Proton, which is the national car brand of Malaysia, was founded by “Father of Malaysia’s Car Industry”, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, later Prime Minister of Malaysia, in 1983, three years before Geely was created.

Beginning in 2010, Proton’s vehicle sales began to decline, harming the brand’s competitiveness. In 2016, Proton held just 12% market share. Consumers associated the brand with poor quality and the company was posting heavy losses. In the face of the four disruptive trends of diverse mobility, autonomous driving, electrification, and connectivity, together with trading up, the Malaysian automobile market was struggling to offer products that met users’ needs.

One member of the Malaysian cabinet believes that while Dr. Mohamad hopes to gain the highest-quality products for the automobile industry at the best price, Geely Holding Group hopes to transform its partnerships by adopting the wisdom of a global mindset. Geely and Proton’s collaboration is more than a simple business deal: it encapsulates the wisdom of two nations.

Frank Fang, Executive Vice President and Head of Commercial Banking at HSBC China, believes that as Geely Holding Group has ventured further into the Malaysian automobile market, a new trend has become increasingly clear: an increasing number of companies in the private sector hailing from a growing range of industries are getting on board with the BRI. They are not only participating for their own development; they are open to creating more opportunities for companies around the globe.

Geely Holding Group’s acquisition of Proton, however, did not come easily. A Proton spokesperson divulged that initially, 23 companies made offers, and the number of potential buyers was whittled down to 5 for a final round, in which Geely prevailed. HSBC, as the sole financial advisor to Geely, was closely involved throughout the acquisition process.

Frank described the collaboration with Geely on the Proton project by noting that Geely is an important client of HSBC. The Bank therefore leveraged its unique global RM system to provide its services and network wherever they are needed. Where a project requires international coordination, HSBC’s local RMs will work with global RMs as part of a coordinated, HQ-to-HQ effort.

In this case, HSBC was able to leverage its deep knowledge of Geely accumulated over many years. The Bank mobilized teams in mainland China, Hong Kong and Malaysia to offer a one-stop financing solution for Geely, from investment banking to commercial banking. “As a financial institution, one of our principles is to bring our clients right to their destination. We want to be the bridge that helps our clients enter the local market,” explains Frank.

Despite skepticism from some corners in Malaysia about the acquisition, and confusion on the part of Geely’s Chinese peers regarding its decision to rescue such a ‘lost cause,’ Geely’s team were confident that under the right conditions, Proton could be raised from the ashes.

Li Shufu, chairman of Geely Group, said that the first order of business after the Proton acquisition was to bring the finances of Proton and Lotus back into the black and provide them with a basis for sustainable development.

Victor Yang explained that in Malaysia, Geely adopted a ‘going in’ development strategy, whereby Geely’s extensive management experience and advanced technology would be integrated at Proton, kick-starting a revamp and upgrade of the Malaysian automobile industrial chain. “Geely’s past experience told us that had we simply opted for some window-dressing and opening a few showrooms, we would not be able to make inroads or develop in the long-term.”

Li Shufu had previously pointed out if Geely is to transform from simply selling cars in a ‘going out’ model, to a ‘coming in’ model that means getting more deeply involved in local industrialization efforts, it must have a global strategy that integrates “localized production, localized supply chains, localized management, and localized sales and service.” Such a strategy focuses on integration of technology, production, talent and culture.

Victor Yang adds that Geely and Proton have endeavored to find synergy in technology R&D, smart manufacturing, and global procurement, in order to better share Geely Holding Group’s resources. Proton has therefore benefitted from the signature Geely focus on user-centered service.

Furthermore, Geely Holding Group has recently rolled out a “Northern Star” strategy at Proton, focusing on talent, channels, cost, quality, value chain, plant retrofitting and new product R&D. The strategy seeks to revitalize Proton and improve innovation, component systems development and professional skills training for employees, in order to accelerate the revamp and internationalization of the Proton brand. The end-goal is maximum resources synergy and scale production.

A year after the Proton acquisition, Geely and Proton’s first co-developed model, the X70, hit the Malaysian market. The X70’s onboard Global Key User Interface (GKUI) is tailor-made for Malaysian drivers; the interface is designed for Malaysian driving habits and users can choose to hear the interface in Malaysian-accented English.

Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad is a particular fan of “the talking car” and was present at the launch. For Dr. Mohamad, “Proton’s good luck began with the collaboration with Geely.”

On 26th April this year, Proton and Al-Haj Automotives signed an agreement to build an assembly plant in Karachi which is expected to reinvigorate Proton’s overseas market expansion.

Perhaps Seagull, by the great Malaysian poet Tian Si, is the best expression of Geely Holding Group’s spirit as it forges ahead on the Maritime Silk Route: “He is a seagull, whose life is struggle; only the ocean knows the hardship of his life.”

Contact us

Commercial Banking Service Hotline

400 821 8878

This hotline serves only commercial banking customer. If you are global banking customer, please directly contact your client service manager.

 

Leave your message

 


HSBC China WeChat Subscription Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.



HSBC China Corporate Banking WeChat Service Account


Fast online banking service and 7X24 client service by intelligent virtual assistant to facilitate our corporate clients a way of managing accounts.
Please follow it and start the online banking journey!



HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Android

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

十年修得同船渡:吉利助力宝腾涅槃

“他是一只海鸥,他的生命是奋斗,他的经历写在大海上。”大马著名诗人田思的名诗《海鸥》,或许正是吉利控股集团在“海上丝绸之路”砥砺前行的写照。

本文转自《财经》杂志
2019年第30期

2017年6月23日上午10点,吉隆坡,浙江吉利控股集团有限公司(下称“吉利控股集团”)与马来西亚DRB-HICOM集团签署了最终协议,吉利控股集团接手DRB-HICOM旗下宝腾汽车(Proton)49.9%的股份和豪华跑车品牌路特斯(Lotus)51%的股份,成为宝腾汽车独家外资战略合作伙伴。

本世纪初,吉利控股集团曾希望进入马来西亚合资建厂,因种种原因未能如愿。为何在十年后选择再战大马,吉利控股集团副总裁杨学良表示,全球汽车产业正面临巨大的创新机遇,汽车企业单打独斗已很难赢得这场战争。无论是吉利还是宝腾,都需要与全球合作伙伴联合,通过协同与分享来占领技术制高点,“这为吉利与宝腾的合作创造了契机”。

汽车产业被马来西亚认为是最重要、最具战略意义的行业之一,是东盟第三大汽车市场。作为马来西亚国民级汽车品牌宝腾,由“马来西亚汽车国父”、总理马哈蒂尔创建于1983年,比吉利控股集团还早了三年。

自2010年开始,宝腾汽车的销量不断下滑,其产品竞争力不断削弱,2016年仅占马来西亚市场12%的份额。在消费者眼里, 这个马来西亚的汽车业老大已沦落到产品不佳、亏损严重的地步。随着汽车行业“新四化”的变革和用户消费升级,马来西亚汽车市场已难以有满足用户需求的产品。

在一位马来西亚内阁成员看来,马哈蒂尔希望用最好的价格为自己的民族工业换来最优的产品,而吉利控股集团则想用全球化思路智慧的转变合作方式。吉利与宝腾的合作,已经超脱了本身的商业行为,是一场展现两国智慧的经济合作。

汇丰中国副行长兼工商金融主管方啸认为,随着吉利控股集团走进马来西亚,一个新现象日益清晰:越来越多的民营企业积极加入到“一带一路”建设,参与的企业类型和行业分布更加多元化。这种参与不仅是为了自身的发展,也可以为全球企业创造更多的机遇。

不过,吉利控股集团成功收购宝腾,得来并不容易。彼时宝腾发言人曾对外表示,最初有多达23家公司参与竞标,其后筛选出五家进入最后一轮,最终吉利控股集团胜出。汇丰银行则作为独家财务顾问,全程参与了宝腾收购项目。

对于和吉利在宝腾收购项目上的合作,方啸表示,吉利控股集团是汇丰银行的重要客户之一,根据汇丰银行特有的全球客户经理人制度,客户走到哪里,汇丰银行的服务和网络就会支持到哪。如果有涉及横跨境内外的项目,则由汇丰本地客户经理配合全球客户经理进行“总对总”的统筹规划,实行境内外联动。

这一次,凭借多年合作对吉利的了解,汇丰银行在中国内地、香港和马来西亚三地团队的联动下,吉利控股集团获得了从投行到商行的一条龙融资服务。“作为金融机构,一个宗旨就是要让客户少走弯路,为其顺利进入当地市场发挥中间桥梁的作用。”方啸介绍。

尽管马来西亚国内对这次收购质疑声此起彼伏,中国同行亦对吉利控股集团收购一个“烂摊子”多有不解,吉利却很笃定,按照自己的节奏,开启了宝腾涅槃计划。

吉利控股集团董事长李书福表示,吉利收购宝腾之后,首要任务是实现宝腾和莲花两个品牌的扭亏为盈,为其提供可持续发展能力。

杨学良介绍,吉利在马来西亚实施的是“走进来”式发展之路,通过向宝腾输出吉利成熟的管理经验、技术,推动马来西亚本土的汽车产业链优化升级。“吉利过去的经验说明,如果只是单纯在外面布局几个网点卖车,走不远也走不长。”

李书福此前提出,吉利从单一产品贸易的“走出去”,转换为深度参与当地工业化的“走进来”,核心在于立足“本土化生产、本土化供应链、本土化管理、本土化销售与服务”为一体的全球化战略,注重技术、产品、人才和文化的融合。

杨学良表示,吉利与宝腾在技术研发,智能制造、全球采购等方面寻求协同,以便最大限度地共享吉利控股集团的资源,在销售和服务上,宝腾亦被赋予了“以用户为中心”的吉利特色。

据了解,吉利控股集团在宝腾推出了“北斗七星战略”,即围绕人才、渠道、成本、质量、产业链、工厂改造以及开发新产品等七个方面,全面提升宝腾本土创新能力、零部件配套体系建设和员工专业技能培养,以加速推进宝腾品牌的转型升级和国际化进程,寻求最大的资源协同和规模化效应。

吉利“牵手”宝腾一年多之后,双方共同开发的首款车型宝腾X70在马来西亚上市。该车型搭载的GKUI系统是为马来西亚用户定制开发的车载智能生态系统,其最大的特点是实现了本地化,适应了马来西亚用车及英语口音习惯。

马哈蒂尔对这款“会说话的车”喜爱有加,亲自上阵“代言”。在其看来,“自从与吉利合作后,宝腾的好运就开始了。”

今年4月26日,宝腾与巴基斯坦阿吉哈汽车集团达成协议,将在巴基斯坦卡拉奇建设海外全散装件组装工厂,重启海外市场拓展步伐。

“他是一只海鸥,他的生命是奋斗,他的经历写在大海上。”大马著名诗人田思的名诗《海鸥》,或许正是吉利控股集团在“海上丝绸之路”砥砺前行的写照。

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。