WuXi Biologics: Empowering the Celtic Tiger

The 65-acre ‘Factory of the Future’ will become the largest construction site in Ireland, with delivery slated for 2021. Once construction is complete, the site will directly lead to the creation of 400 high-tech jobs and 700 construction-related roles.

Article Reposted from Caijing Magazine,

Issue 30, 2019

When he disembarked from the plane at Dublin Airport, Chris Chen (PhD) Chief Executive Officer of WuXi Biologics (02269.HK) was surprised to find officials from Ireland IDA on the runway waiting to greet him. 

In fact, Ireland IDA had even organized a special banquet for their guest coming from afar. Chris, who had much experience conducting business in Europe and America, but who had never been treated to such a warm official welcome, remembers that day clearly.

On 30th April 2018, a spring day in the previous year, WuXi Biologics announced that it planned to invest €325 million in the construction of a new vaccines manufacturing facility in Dundalk, only 45 minutes from Dublin Airport.

The 65-acre ‘Factory of the Future’ will become the largest construction site in Ireland, with delivery slated for 2021. Once construction is complete, the site will directly lead to the creation of 400 high-tech jobs and 700 construction-related roles. The facility is the first of its kind invested in by WuXi Biologics outside China, and is the first large-scale investment on a greenfield site by a Chinese biologics company.

Ireland, the “Celtic Tiger”, is also famous for its beautiful countryside, which reflects its other nickname, the “Emerald Isle”. Since the 1960s, Ireland has invested heavily in biologics, which has become the first port of call for investors in the new biotechnology and facilities sector. The country has attracted industry talent from all around the globe. There are around 90 bioprocessing facilities in Ireland, some of which been here for half a century.

Thanks to the current global biotechnology revolution, biomedicine has become a strategic choice for development this century. Chris Chen explains that after the facility is complete, it will “lead the application of next-generation biologics manufacturing technology” (continuous manufacturing) when it begins commercial manufacturing. The site will become a global leader in biologics as the ‘Factory of the Future’.

But why Ireland? Chris Chen explains that Ireland has mature biologics and other knowledge-intensive industries, with 1% of the population involved in pharmaceuticals. With its pool of experienced talent and production facilities, Ireland is one of the first choices for investors in biologics.

Ireland is open to investment, and IDA Ireland is serious about welcoming new businesses to the country. The rolling out of the red carpet for Chris Chen by the IDA Ireland officials was just a small part of this effort.

IDA Ireland focuses not just on acts of kindness to individuals; it has a clear plan to attract investment. “They knew what they wanted to do on this plot of land ten years ago,” says Chen.

Ireland also benefits from a relatively stable political and economic environment. There are many business-friendly tax incentives, with corporate tax at just 12.5%, far lower than the average rate of corporate tax in the European Union (22.5%) and the global average (21.4%). IDA Ireland also led the creation of the National Institute for Bioprocessing Research and Training (NIBRT), which has become the equivalent of “West Point” for Ireland’s biologics industry.

Eight years ago, WuXi Biologics was a small biologics and bioprocessing business unit under WuXi AppTec, with just a few dozen staff. In 2016, the unit was incorporated and began moving at ‘WuXi speed’: the company was listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in 2017, where its market cap soared past HKD100 billion in under 300 days, becoming a “legend” in the Hong Kong stock market back then.

In 2018, WuXi Biologics moved to consolidate its gains and expand its production capacity. Building on its Follow-the-Molecule strategy, the company realigned to a global dual-sourcing strategy. As part of the new strategy, WuXi Biologics will establish 20 labs around the world producing living cell culture and preparations. The Dundalk facility is an important component in this global lab network.

On 22nd November 2019, WuXi Biologics announced that WuXi Vaccines, its vaccines contract development and manufacturing organization (CDMO) subsidiary, would invest USD240 million in a vaccine production facility. The investment would be the second major investment by the company at its Dundalk campus and would be the first vaccine CDMO facility in Ireland.

Given the scale of the project, WuXi Biologics would need significant financial support. HSBC stepped in to become the company’s chief financial partner.

HSBC’s involvement was no surprise, as HSBC’s extensive network and global RM system allow it to mobilise resources for its customers worldwide. “It’s not just in Ireland, Singapore or the US – we go wherever WuXi Biologics needs us,” explains Frank Fang, Executive Vice President and Head of Commercial Banking at HSBC China, who knows Chris Chen fairly well. HSBC’s branch network in Ireland is staffed with an overseas customer team who are experts in local business customs. “Our RMs are familiar with Chinese culture and ways of thinking. They are also experts in local customs of their host countries, which allows them to help advise Chinese businesses on how to better integrate into local markets.”

Frank Fang notes that collaborations between medicine and biotechnology companies are driving advances in cutting-edge medicine along the Belt and Road, improving living standards and providing commercial opportunities. In 2018, HSBC created a specialist team to handle business with the medicine and health industry. The team’s work involved everything from analysis of industry segment demand, to designing financing packages for clients in China and abroad, improving credit approvals to driving collaborations between businesses and investors, and providing assistance to clients like WuXi Biologics as they upgrade their capacity and develop global strategies.

Chris Chen says that enhancing the company’s international production via upgrading its biologics technology and its quality of service is an important step to consolidating the company’s gains. The company’s Dundalk facility is a key part of that effort.

WuXi Biologics projected in its interim report that, with the rollout of the global strategy, the company’s total production capacity would surpass 280,000L by 2022.

After the establishment of the Dundalk facility, the company will continue to employ its advanced single-use disposable bioprocessing technology and will lead the application of next-generation biologics manufacturing technology (continuous manufacturing) when it begins commercial manufacturing. The site will become a global leader in biologics as the ‘Factory of the Future’.

Chris Chen adds that empowering local partners to accelerate the development of biologics, and empowering the local life sciences industry, will become a key part of WuXi Biologics’ international strategy. In the future, the strategy may also expand to Belt and Road countries.

A report by China Securities projects fast-paced growth for WuXi Biologics over the next few years. Its global strategy focusing on production capacity and continuous culture technology has the potential to sustain highly efficient commercial projects. In view of the fast growth of the biologics industry and WuXi Biologics’ need to balance the development and production needs of customers in China and overseas in future, the company’s production expansion plan is a prudent choice.

Slowly but surely, WuXi Biologics’ “Factory of the Future” is taking shape on the Emerald Isle.

Contact us

Commercial Banking Service Hotline

400 821 8878

This hotline serves only commercial banking customer. If you are global banking customer, please directly contact your client service manager.

 

Leave your message

 


HSBC China WeChat Subscription Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.



HSBC China Corporate Banking WeChat Service Account


Fast online banking service and 7X24 client service by intelligent virtual assistant to facilitate our corporate clients a way of managing accounts.
Please follow it and start the online banking journey!



HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Android

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

药明生物:赋能“凯尔特之虎”

占地面积390亩的生物制药“未来工厂”,将成为爱尔兰境内面积最大的建筑工地。建成后,将为当地直接创造400个高新技术工作岗位和700个建设类就业机会。

本文转自《财经》杂志
2019年第30期

走出爱尔兰都柏林机场坪上的飞机机舱时,药明生物技术有限公司(WuXi Biologics,下称“药明生物”,02269.HK)首席执行官陈智胜博士有点惊讶:爱尔兰投资发展局(IDA)的相关负责人正等在飞机旁接机。

不仅亲自接机,爱尔兰投资发展局(IDA)还专门设宴款待这位远方的客人。常与欧美国家打交道的陈智胜,此前还不曾有过这种充满热情的官方“待遇”,至今仍对这个场景记忆犹新。

一年前的春天(2018年4月30日),药明生物宣布,计划未来五年内在爱尔兰边境小城敦多克(Dundalk)总投资3.25亿欧元,用于新建生物制药生产基地。该基地距离都柏林机场仅有45分钟车程。

占地面积390亩的生物制药“未来工厂”,将成为爱尔兰境内面积最大的建筑工地,计划于2021年完工。建成后,将为当地直接创造400个高新技术工作岗位和700个建设类就业机会。这是药明生物在中国境外投资建设的第一个生产基地,也是中国制药行业首个大规模的海外绿地投资项目。

爱尔兰有“凯尔特之虎”的美誉,因满目山青水秀的田园风光,又有“翡翠岛”之称。自上世纪六十年代以来,爱尔兰大力发展生物制药行业,已成为新型生物技术设施领域最大的投资地,汇聚着全世界生物制药行业的优秀人才。据统计,约90家生物制造基地落地爱尔兰,且投资历史长达50年。

在当下全球生物技术革命浪潮中,生物医药已成为21世纪全球优先发展的战略性产业之一。陈智胜介绍,基地建成后,将在当地率先应用“新一代生物制药生产技术”(连续生产工艺)开展商业化生产,将其打造成为全球领先的生物制药“未来工厂”。

为何选择爱尔兰?陈智胜表示,爱尔兰已形成生物制药等知识密集型行业,有1%的人口从事医药行业,拥有成熟经验的人才和药厂,是生物制药企业首选的投资地之一。

从爱尔兰的招商环境来看,爱尔兰投资发展局对引入的企业有很好的服务意识和诚信意识,这也是为何会发生爱尔兰投资发展局相关负责人亲自为陈智胜接机的小插曲。

爱尔兰投资发展局为招商企业提供的不仅仅是这些暖心小细节,更有对招商的详细规划。“十年前他们就规划好了在这块地上做什么。”陈智胜表示。

此外,爱尔兰有相对稳定的政治经济环境,税优政策丰厚,企业税率仅为12.5%,远低于欧盟22.5%的平均水平和全球21.4%的平均水平。此外,爱尔兰投资局牵头成立的爱尔兰国家生物工艺研究培训所(NIBRT),已成为爱尔兰制药业的“黄埔军校”。这一切深深地打动了药明生物。

8年前,药明生物还只是药明康德旗下一个仅有数十人的生物制药与生物工艺部门,2016年分拆独立运营,以“药明生物速度”高速发展,并于2017年成功在港交所上市,上市不到300天市值就突破千亿港元,创下当时港股市场的一则“神话”。

2018年,药明生物提出“做深护城河”,聚焦于“扩产能”,在原有的“跟随药物分子发展阶段扩大业务(Follow-the-Molecule)”战略基础上,推出了“全球双厂生产”新战略。为此,药明生物将在全球建立20个生物制药原液和制剂生产厂房,爱尔兰生产基地在其中占据了重要地位。

2019年11月22日,药明生物宣布从事疫苗合同定制研发生产(CDMO)服务的子公司药明海德将投资2.4亿美元在爱尔兰新建一座疫苗生产基地,成为其在敦多克生产基地的第二笔重大投资,亦是爱尔兰首个疫苗合同定制研发生产基地。

作为大型投资项目,药明生物亦离不开金融机构的服务支持。据了解,汇丰银行成为其在爱尔兰项目的主要合作金融机构。

这个选择并不意外,汇丰的网络优势和全球客户经理机制,能够调配全球资源服务于客户,“不单单是爱尔兰,还有新加坡和美国,药明生物在哪里有需求,我们就服务到哪里。”与陈智胜相识颇深的汇丰中国副行长兼工商金融主管方啸表示。汇丰在爱尔兰的分支机构配有非常熟悉当地业务的海外客户团队提供一系列服务。“客户经理熟悉中国企业的文化和思维方式,也很了解所在国的习惯和风俗,可以很好地引导企业更好地适应和融入当地。”

方啸表示,医疗及生物科技的合作,正在“一带一路”沿线驱动着尖端医疗的进步, 也推动着当地民生和商业的发展。汇丰在2018年成立了专门服务医疗健康行业的业务团队,从挖掘细分行业需求到设计境内外配套融资方案,从推动信贷审批到安排商投联动,助力像药明生物这样企业的产能升级和全球化战略。

陈智胜表示,“做深护城河”的重要步骤之一便是进一步升级生物制药技术平台能力和服务质量,提升国际产能。爱尔兰生产基地将成为药明生物提升国际产能的重要来源。

药明生物此前在中报宣布,自推出全球化战略布局后,预计到2022年,其总产能将超过28万升。

据了解,爱尔兰生产基地建成后,将在当地继续采用全球领先的一次性生物工艺技术,并率先应用“新一代生物制药生产技术”(连续生产工艺)开展商业化生产,将其打造成为全球领先的生物制药“未来工厂”。

陈智胜表示,赋能当地合作伙伴加速生物药的开发进程和赋能本地生命科学生态圈,将成为药明生物国际化战略布局的起点和关键一环,未来还可以扩展至赋能“一带一路”国家。

中信建投报告认为,药明生物未来几年在生产端有望实现快速增长,全球布局的产能和连续培养技术可以支撑公司的商业化项目高效率的运行。考虑到生物药行业的高增长以及公司未来产能兼顾国内及海外客户的研发、生产端需求,当前公司的产能扩张计划符合未来生产需求。

在青山绿水的翡翠岛上,药明生物“未来工厂”的轮廓渐成。

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。