SPIC Acquires São Simão

As he remarked in his poem, Lu Anjian notes, “Internationalisation starts with the smallest training paddles in your local sea, but you transform and gain the capability to conduct missions on the seven seas, a brave seaman at the helm of your ship, watching the ocean ahead – the globalised future.”

Article Reposted from Caijing Magazine,

Issue 30, 2019

In 1940, famous writer Stefan Zweig paid his second visit to Brazil. In Brazil, Land of the Future, he wrote: “Once one has set foot in Brazil, one finds oneself unwilling to leave; once one has left, one always wishes to return to her embrace.”

Zweig’s words perhaps strike particularly close to home for Lu Anjian, Deputy General Manager and chief legal counsel to long-time resident of Brazil, State Power Investment Overseas Co., Ltd. of China (“SPIC Overseas”).

Three years ago, against the backdrop of a wave of Chinese businesses venturing overseas, State Power Investment Corporation Limited (“SPIC”) began to deploy its cross-border operations strategy. On 6th June 2016, SPIC Overseas was incorporated as SPIC’s cross-border operations development strategy arm. The new company would be responsible for large-scale overseas project development, investment and asset operations.

In April 2017, SPIC Overseas, supported by Pacific Hydro, secured the concession for São Simão, Brazil’s ninth-largest hydroelectric plant, at the lowest premium to the minimum bid price in a model example of energy cooperation between China and Brazil.

São Simão is located on the Paranaíba River, at the centre of Brazil’s power load. The plant began operating in 1978 and is the largest of a set of 4 such plants put up for auction by the Brazilian federal government. The maximum installed capacity of the São Simão plant when it was completed was 2,680MW.

On 10th May 2018, SPIC Overseas completed all handover procedures and formally took possession of the São Simão hydroelectric plant, finalising a smooth transition to private use. In October 2019, São Simão’s monthly power generation reached 1024GWhrs, the highest figure for the past five years.

Lu Anjian has vivid memories of the race against the clock to prepare the acquisition plan for the São Simão plant. He once published a poem in the company’s internal magazine, comparing himself and his colleagues to a multi-dimensional combat force of multiple services and arms on an overseas mission. The auction for the São Simão plant, in his words, was a set-piece battle across 24 time zones that depended on coordinated command and combat.

 

“It was a challenge to win the bid, and we were fantastically quick off the mark thanks to a solid vanguard who knew the local terrain,” explains Lu.

Because of the great distance between Brazil and China, the acquisition of the São Simão plant required coordination between frontline and reserve teams in both countries. For Lu Anjian, SPIC Overseas is like an overseas expeditionary force, engaged in a campaign in the far corners of the southern hemisphere.

At the time of the auction, the majority of Chinese power companies had yet to make Brazil the focus of their overseas markets, and most had no experience operating in the country. It was only after the inauguration of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor that, gradually, more Chinese businesses became interested in venturing into the Brazilian market.

At the auction, SPIC Overseas saw fierce competition from strong contenders from France and Italy among other countries.

The CPC committee at SPIC lent their full support to the São Simão bid, holding full and frank discussions of any latent risks and preparing contingencies accordingly.

SPIC Overseas’s team leveraged previous analyses of the Brazilian electricity market by China Three Gorges Corporation, together with their own keen market instincts and solid support from SPIC, all backed up by a global support network, allowing them to retain a precision strategy, and remain unruffled throughout the bidding process. Finally, SPIC Overseas joined Zhejiang Provincial Energy Group Company Ltd., China-Portuguese Speaking Countries Cooperation and Development Fund (“CPD Fund”), and the China-LAC Cooperation Fund in a successful bid at a 6.5% premium to the minimum bid price (the lowest premium rate in the fourth bid section) to gain the operating rights to the São Simão hydroelectric power plant.

Li Hui, SPIC Overseas’ Chief Financial Officer, revealed that there was a tight deadline after the successful bid regarding the submission of paperwork supporting the company’s legal, technical and financial compliance. The submission process required a period of close coordination which was an immense challenge – for instance, to manage applications for relevant permits from different government ministries and commissions, the company appointed specific points of contact.

For SPIC Overseas, still greater challenges loomed: there was a two-month deadline to raise USD2.3 billion for investment. “The project was conducted under significant resource and capital constraints; it was like walking a tightrope. There was no playbook of successful case studies to refer to; we had to just find the optimal solution for the specific circumstances we were in,” says Lu Anjian.

For Chinese businesses sallying forth into the international market, financing will pose acute challenges. These companies may need to jump through multiple hoops, including pre-loan due diligence, syndicated loan approval meetings, negotiation and signing of financing agreements, and changes in credit conditions right up to the conditions for approval of the first drawdown. They must meet all kinds of pre-conditions in order to obtain credit, and must obtain government permits, land permits, approvals for overseas loans, government letters of approval for asset transfers, and relevant certificates. Chinese businesses must meet all these conditions, in environments with which they are unfamiliar.

Li Hui explains that the transaction structure for the São Simão deal was hugely complicated, because capital controls, as well as tax systems of multiple countries and regions, all needed to be taken into account. The allocation of guarantees, the choice to conduct a debenture sale in China or an overseas market, pricing considerations for related party transactions, and decisions regarding whether to opt for a swap transaction – every possible solution needed to be subjected to rigorous scrutiny.

For investments in Brazil, exchange rate risk is the greatest hazard. The company needed a keen grasp of the FX markets, as well as expertise in the local market and tax system, so as to formulate a feasible foreign exchange swap. Furthermore, the complicated Brazilian tax system meant that it was imperative to devise a satisfactory tax structure for the deal.

“Everyone was working 24 hours a day across the globe: we had three teams in Australia, Chile and Brazil working in tandem. We pulled a lot of all-nighters,” reminisces Lu.

Wenjie Zhang, EVP, Managing Director and Co-Head of Global Banking of HSBC China recounted a similar experience. HSBC also coordinated worldwide: “We have a system of global relationship managers and we have 26 China Desks across our key markets. Where there is a need for a cross-border project, our global RMs work with the project teams locally in order to provide a comprehensive one-stop service.”

After the São Simão acquisition contest kicked off, Wenjie Zhang’s team quickly switched to their seamless, combat-ready status. “It was often the case that just as our Brazilian colleagues were clocking off, the China team would come online. Everyone gave it their all to work together and ensure the best use of our manpower to close the deal.”

Eventually, with close collaboration from both teams, the São Simão deal secured a financing package that’s locally appropriate both in Brazil and in China.

Thanks to SPIC’s excellent international ratings (Moody’s A2; S&P A-; Fitch A) and its rational financing package, the syndicated loan application and debenture sale both garnered great interest and subscriptions from many internationally well-known banks, resulting in a smooth raising of funds.

“São Simão is just the beginning. SPIC Overseas intends to plant seeds that will grow into an eco-system locally, helping our management learn the local culture,” explains Lu.

In line with SPIC’s strategy, SPIC Overseas will build on the positive platform effect of Pacific Hydro and the gains from the São Simão deal to continue with acquiaition of high-quality assets. SPIC Overseas will ensure it acquires key strategic targets and accelerates the expansion of the company’s global strategic footprint.

Wenjie Zhang believes that broad international participation will help open up BRI development to more overseas businesses, delivering mutually beneficial returns. For global businesses involved in engineering, project design, professional services and many related industries, this is absolutely a positive development.

As he remarked in his poem, Lu Anjian notes, “Internationalisation starts with the smallest training paddles in your local sea, but you transform and gain the capability to conduct missions on the seven seas, a brave seaman at the helm of your ship, watching the ocean ahead – the globalised future.”

Contact us

Commercial Banking Service Hotline

400 821 8878

This hotline serves only commercial banking customer. If you are global banking customer, please directly contact your client service manager.

 

Leave your message

 


HSBC China WeChat Subscription Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.



HSBC China Corporate Banking WeChat Service Account


Fast online banking service and 7X24 client service by intelligent virtual assistant to facilitate our corporate clients a way of managing accounts.
Please follow it and start the online banking journey!



HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Android

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

国家电投:圣西芒收购协奏曲

“国际化的事业从最初只能在近海执行任务,跨越到具备全球执行任务的巨大转变,伫立舰首的海外勇士,守候着孤独,也守候着全球化的未来。”国家电投海外公司副总经理、总法律顾问卢岸健在小诗中所是憧憬

本文转自《财经》杂志
2019年第30期

1940年,著名作家茨威格第二次来到巴西,在《巴西:未来之国》中写道:“凡是来到巴西的人都不愿离开这里,无论身处何方,都希望能回到它的怀抱。”

常驻巴西的国家电力投资集团海外投资有限公司(下称“国家电投海外公司”,SPIC Overseas)副总经理、总法律顾问卢岸健,对此或许会产生共鸣。

三年前,在中国企业“走出去”的大潮之中,国家电投集团开始实施跨国经营战略。2016年1月6日,国家电投海外公司正式成立,作为国家电投集团实施跨国经营发展战略的平台,进行重大海外项目开发、投资和资产运营。

2017年4月,以太平洋水电巴西公司为支撑,国家电投海外公司以最低溢价成功中标巴西第九大水电站圣西芒(San Simao)水电站项目,成为中巴产能合作的典范。

圣西芒位于巴西的巴拉那伊巴河上,处在巴西电力负荷中心地带,1978年投入运行,是巴西联邦政府组织的四个水电资产特许经营权招标中最大的一个,建成之后最终总装机容量最大可达268万千瓦。

2018年5月10日,国家电投海外公司完成了交割过渡期的所有准备工作,正式接管圣西芒水电站,实现了电站的平稳过渡和自主运营。2019年10月,圣西芒完成月度发电量10.24亿千瓦时,创下近五年月度发电量新纪录。

回想起两年前的那场在极短时间内争分夺秒完成的圣西芒水电站收购案,卢岸健仍深有感触。他曾在公司内刊上发表了一首小诗,形容他和他的同事们是一支远渡重洋进行多兵种协同的立体作战队伍。而竞标圣西芒水电站则是一场应用网络横跨24个时区、联合指挥和联合作战完成的精彩战役。

“我们拿到项目不容易,抓的机会特别早,这得益于公司在巴西有一个前方团队熟悉当地的情况。”卢岸健介绍。

由于巴西与中国相距遥远,收购圣西芒水电站,需要协调前后方、国内外多个团队。在卢岸健看来,国家电投海外公司犹如一支远征军,在遥远的南半球开展了一场远洋作战。

彼时,中国的电力公司对于海外市场的关注点还没有落在巴西市场,在巴西还没有跨国经营的实战经验。自从中巴经济走廊开通之后,巴西才渐渐成为中国企业的“出海”热点之一。

在圣西芒水电站项目的竞标中,国家电投遇到了来自法国、意大利等国的劲敌,竞争非常激烈。

据介绍,国家电投党组对圣西芒项目非常支持,同时也对其中的潜在风险和相关的备案进行了充分论证。

基于三峡集团之前对巴西电力市场的了解,前方的市场嗅觉加之后方的稳健支援,在全球协作的机制和平台之下,国家电投海外公司的投标策略明确,竞标节奏忙而不乱。最终,国家电投海外公司联合浙能集团、中葡基金、中拉基金以高于最低投标限价6.5%的投标价(溢价率为四个标段最低)中标了圣西芒水电站的特许经营权项目。

国家电投海外公司财务总监李辉透露,中标后要在很短的时间内完成法律、技术、财务等符合要求的合规资格文件,需要协调方方面面,非常不容易。比如,为了及时拿到相关部委的批件,还安排专人跟踪进程。

对于国家电投海外公司来说,更大的挑战还在后面:要在两个月之内筹齐23亿美元的投资款。“这是在资源和资本约束之下的项目,对于我们来说如同踩着钢丝行走。之前也没有成功的商业案例作参考,要在限定条件之下寻求最优解。”卢岸健表示。

对于“出海”的中国企业来说,会在融资过程中面临着很多的挑战和考验,需要在陌生的投资环境中,完成从贷前尽职调查、银团信贷会议审批、融资协议谈判签署、信贷条件变更直至最后落实首次放款条件等一系列工作,需要落实诸多放款前置条件,还要克服多项政府审批、项目用地审批、海外贷款审批、相关政府机构的权益转让同意函和出具相关证明书等难点。

李辉介绍,圣西芒项目的交易架构非常复杂,涉及不同区域和国家的外汇管制政策、税收制度等。保证金如何进行调配,当地还是境外发债哪个方案最优、关联交易如何定价、是否需要安排掉期交易等等细节,都要进行大量的论证。

对于巴西的投资项目来说,汇率风险是最大的风险。需要具备对外汇市场行情的精准把握,以及对本地市场和税务政策的深入了解,才能制定最优的外汇掉期方案。此外,由于巴西的税制非常复杂,设计合理的税务结构也非常关键。

“当时整个团队是24小时全时区工作,澳洲、智利和巴西三地的团队联合作战,度过了很多不眠之夜。”卢岸健回忆。

共同参与了圣西芒项目的汇丰中国副行长兼环球银行联席总监张文杰对此深有体会。在汇丰内部,亦同样采用了联合作战的模式。“我们内部有一种全球客户经理模式,并在26个主要市场设立了中资企业海外服务部。涉及跨境项目时,由客户和项目所在国的团队合作,为客户提供基于通盘统筹的一条龙服务。”张文杰介绍。

在圣西芒收购战打响后,张文杰团队也同样切换到无时差的无缝衔接工作模式。“经常是巴西的同事休息了,国内的同事又接上了,通过协作配合实现跨境业务能力的最大化。”

最终,在双方的通力合作下,圣西芒项目的融资方案既有巴西特色又适合中巴两地市场。

由于国家电力投资集团良好的国际评级(穆迪A2/标普A-/惠誉A),融资方案合理,其银团贷款及后续发行的债券均获得多家国际著名银行的踊跃参与和认购,圆满完成了融资。

“圣西芒只是一个起点,国家电投海外公司要让种子生根发芽,在当地建立生态环境,促进管理和文化融合。”卢岸健表示。

据了解,根据国家电投的战略部署,海外公司将充分发挥太平洋水电平台优势与圣西芒电站的辐射效应,继续通过优质资产的并购,实现重点项目突破,加速拓展全球战略布局。

张文杰认为,广泛的国际参与,有助于“一带一路”建设向更多的海外企业敞开大门,实现互惠共享,对工程、项目设计、专业服务以及许多相关行业的全球企业来说,无疑是一大利好。

“国际化的事业从最初只能在近海执行任务,跨越到具备全球执行任务的巨大转变,伫立舰首的海外勇士,守候着孤独,也守候着全球化的未来。”卢岸健在小诗中所是憧憬。

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。