CET: Making Electrical Waves On the Nile

Cai Yongping, an engineer and project manager at CET, and his colleagues on the project team are opening up a new market on the world’s longest river.

Article Reposted from Caijing Magazine,

Issue 30, 2019

“Girt there with blasts and meteors Tempest dwells. By Nile's aereal urn, with rapid spells. Urging those waters to their mighty end.” --Percy Bysshe Shelley, To the Nile

In 2016, when Cai Yongping, an engineer and project manager at China Electric Power Equipment and Technology Co., Ltd. (“CET”) first joined the EETC500 kV power transmission project bound for Egypt, all he knew about the Nile was its name, from his junior high school geography textbook.

Today, Cai and his colleagues shuttle back and forth along the Nile, the world’s longest river, all in view of the same scenes Shelley once described. The power lines now stretching across the Nile are Cai’s legacy.

2016 marked the 60th anniversary of the establishment of formal diplomatic relations between the People’s Republic of China and Egypt. On 19th January 2016, Chinese President Xi Jinping published an article titled “Let China-Arab Friendship Surge Forward like the Nile” in Al-Ahram. In the article, President Xi emphasized that, “The BRI is aimed at achieving true common prosperity instead of the mere satisfaction of self-interests.”

The following day, President Xi and Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi were present as the State Grid Corporation of China, and Ministry of Electricity and Renewable Energy of Egypt, signed the contract for the EETC500 kV power transmission project. It was agreed that CET, a subsidiary of State Grid Corporation of China, would be the EPC of the project. It was the first all-inclusive signing, execution and financing contract between the two countries in the field of power transmission and heralded a new era in their bilateral cooperation.

CET thus became the first Chinese power company to enter the Egyptian market. The EETC500 kV power transmission project will cover the northern, central and southern parts of the Nile River Delta region, and will stretch along a total length of 1,285km.

Before CET’s arrival, Egypt’s power infrastructure was relatively weak. For those living on the banks of the Nile, power outages and blown fuses were part and parcel of everyday life. In today’s digital world, a power cut means being cut off from the world.

Under the scorching Egyptian sun, Cai supervised his colleagues in the project division in order to ensure the project was delivered to schedule. At peak times, construction work was carried out on six power lines simultaneously. The blueprints for individual power lines needed to be designed in tandem with the others, planning permission conflicts arose, and logistics posed a challenge. Despite these difficulties, the project team coordinated their efforts and tailored their solutions to evolving circumstances, even going so far as to develop a new EPC logistics management system. During the construction process, the project team conducted an analysis that allowed them to develop a program management model that suited the Egypt project. The team fully harnessed this model to ensure standardised design, centralised procurement, smart logistics management, and standardised, unified construction management objectives. As part of the project, two 175-metre-high pylons were erected on either bank of the Nile, making the EETC500 Kv project the first to cross the river. The height, weight and distance between the pylons all set new records for Egypt’s power grid.

For Cai, who had previously worked on power line crossings over the Pearl River and Yellow River in China, the greatest challenge of the Nile River project was not the technical aspect but the time constraints. In order to protect the Nile shipping trade, the Egyptian government stipulated that the power line cables be raised higher above the water. This in turn meant that higher pylons would need to be constructed, and would increase the workload by 30%. However, no adjustment was made to the delivery date, creating a thorough headache for the project team. Furthermore, the dozen power lines for the project would pass over some of Egypt’s most densely-populated areas. In Egypt, where private ownership of land is permitted, difficulties in acquiring the land necessary meant that the power lines often had to be diverted from the planned route, leading to sharp spikes in time cost for CET.

CET also faced many unexpected problems on its arrival in Egypt. For instance, what should have been the busiest phase of the project coincided with Ramadan. In line with Islam, Egyptian workers would not work in daylight hours. In order to ensure that the project was delivered to schedule, Cai transferred 200 workers from China to work in the day. The Egyptian workers would then take the night shift. In the summer, the management adjusted the work schedule to avoid the midday heat, beginning the shift at 4pm.

Eventually, the project was delivered not only to schedule, but even set a record for the shortest construction period of a project of its kind. Egypt’s days of imposed blackouts are set to become a thing of the past. Mohamed Shaker, Minister of Electricity and Renewable Energy of Egypt, praised the high standards and quality adhered to during the project: “The project has harnessed the latest electrical transmission technology and concepts from China, helping to revamp Egypt’s outdated power grid and transforming the quality of life of Egypt’s citizens.”

As an important part of the BRI, infrastructural development and connectivity lays the foundation for further BRI development. Investment in and construction of major infrastructure projects will remove the roadblocks to deeper cooperation between Belt and Road countries and pave the way for economic cooperation.

The Egypt project, which has a contractual value of USD758 million, has created financing structure challenges for CET.

Yang Guo, chief accountant at CET, notes that financial decisions at CET must serve the development and construction of BRI projects, and must ensure business development and execution. In Yang’s judgment, a proper financing structure should first and foremost meet the developing needs of a project, ensuring both efficiency and effectiveness.

“As a project progreses, we need to consider whether the financing structure and model are a good fit for the project, the feasibility of the financing, and arrangements for the duration. We also need to be aware of the risks or challenges posed by hidden costs – for example, exchange rate risk, which determines the choice of currency for settlement. All of these issues require prudent and rational judgment.”, said Yang.

In the initial stages, CET’s Egypt project was jointly financed by three Chinese banks and the China Export & Credit Insurance Corporation. CET also worked with HSBC and other international financial institutions. HSBC extended a comprehensive credit line to CET based on an analysis of its production and operations, business expansion, strategic focus and current financial position and business needs. HSBC further provided a Chinese-speaking local customer manager to assist CET and ensure that from the inception of the project there would be no language barrier.

With the support of a host of Chinese and international financial institutions, CET has harnessed a variety of financing solutions and met the requirements of various modes of collaboration accepted in the power grid infrastructure industry, including buyer’s credit for the Egypt project and seller’s credit for the GDHA500kV power transmission project in neighbouring Ethiopia.

Wenjie Zhang, EVP, Managing Director and Co-Head of Global Banking of HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited (“HSBC China”) commented that BRI-related projects often entail the raising of substantial sums. Diversifying financing channels is a crucial element in BRI-related financing, and Chinese companies should deploy a financing structure that fits the particular phase of construction or operation of a project.

As CET’s EETC500 Kv project progresses and Egypt’s revival plan is implemented, the country’s power transmission infrastructure is taking shape. There has been a clear drop in demand in the electricity market, and while banks in Europe are offering zero interest or even negative interest rates, Egypt’s diversified, low-cost financing model is growing by the day. Cai Yongping explains that Egypt has no large-scale or emergency projects in need of financing for the time being. There is increasing demand for low-cost, high-quality, short-term projects, and bidding wars are intense in the open-market economy. CET will need to adjust its market strategy accordingly in order to accommodate changes in user demand, with more focus on discovering technologies commensurate with the scale of the national grid and on projects that harness CET’s advantages as a seasoned player. CET will gradually transform its strategy towards grid upgrade, efficiency enhancement and cross-border interconnection of power grids.

Today, Cai and his colleagues on the CET project team are opening up a new market on the world’s longest river.

There is an Egyptian saying that goes: “Once you drink from the Nile, you will come back again.” Back in China on holiday on a short respite from work, Cai Yongping will soon return to the banks of the Nile; it will be another Chinese New Year spent away from his family.

Contact us

Commercial Banking Service Hotline

400 821 8878

This hotline serves only commercial banking customer. If you are global banking customer, please directly contact your client service manager.

 

Leave your message

 


HSBC China WeChat Subscription Account


A thought leadership content hub to share market trends, expert insights, industry reports, and global sponsorship news.
Please scan the QR code to follow it.



HSBC China Corporate Banking WeChat Service Account


Fast online banking service and 7X24 client service by intelligent virtual assistant to facilitate our corporate clients a way of managing accounts.
Please follow it and start the online banking journey!



HSBCnet Mobile App


iPhone Android

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

中电装备:尼罗河上的电波

沿着尼罗河这条世界上最长的河流,中电装备埃及项目部项目经理、工程师蔡永平与中电装备项目组的同事们,顺流而下,不断开拓新的市场。

本文转自《财经》杂志
2019年第30期

“暴风雨卷着气流和陨星凝聚,在尼罗河上空的圆瓮中,不断地督促河水,向远大的途程涌进。”这是英国著名诗人雪莱笔下的尼罗河。

2016年随着EETC500千伏输电线路项目来到埃及之前,中国电力技术装备有限公司(下称“中电装备”)埃及项目部项目经理、工程师蔡永平对尼罗河的认知,还只是初中地理课本上的一个地名。

如今,蔡永平和他的同事每日穿逡于这条世界上最长的河流之上,亲眼见证了雪莱笔下的尼罗河之景。尼罗河上的另一景——跨越尼罗河的输电线路,则与他们的工作息息相关。

2016年是中埃建交60周年,当时的1月19日,国家主席习近平在埃及《金字塔报》发表署名文章《让中阿友谊如尼罗河水奔涌向前》中强调:“‘一带一路’追求的是百花齐放的大利,不是一枝独秀的小利。”

一天之后(1月20日),在习近平、埃及总统塞西的共同见证下,中国国家电网公司与埃及电力与新能源部签署了埃及最大的输电工程——EETC500千伏输电线路项目合同,由中国国家电网公司所属的中电装备作为总包方建设,成为中埃产能合作首个成功签约、执行和融资关闭的项目,由此拉开了中埃产能合作的序幕。

随后,中电装备成为第一家进入埃及的中国电力公司,将在北部尼罗河三角洲区域和中南部,建设总长约1285公里的EETC500千伏输电线路项目。

在中电装备进入之前,埃及的电力基础设施相对薄弱。对于尼罗河畔的居民来说,跳闸断电是家常便饭。在如今的信息化社会,断电意味着与外界失联。

在埃及的炎炎烈日下,蔡永平带领项目部的同事,全力推进工程履约。高峰时期6条线路同时建设,各线路间存在大量交叉设计和批图冲突,物资调配也面临考验,项目部全面统筹、实时调整、动态协调,并创造性地开发出EPC物资管理系统全面应用,将困难逐一克服。在建设过程中,项目部逐步总结出了适合埃及项目的项目群管理模式,充分利用项目群管理优势,基本实现了标准设计、集中采购、智能物资管理、标准化、统一化施工管理目标。项目在尼罗河两侧建设高达175米的跨河铁塔,这条EETC500千伏输电线第一次跨越尼罗河,其高度、塔重和跨度均创下埃及电网系统的新高。

对于曾经参与过珠江和黄河跨江输电工程项目的蔡永平来说,在尼罗河上架线最难的不是技术而是时间。为了更好地保护尼罗河航运,埃及政府当时要求升高导线,架线的铁塔也须随之增高,这使得工程量增加了三分之一,但工期时间并没有增加,给项目建设带来了巨大挑战。此外,项目的十几条线路遍布埃及人口集中的主要地区,而埃及允许土地私有化,由于征地等原因,时常导致线路路径调整,也大大增加了中电装备的时间成本。

此外,初来乍到的中电装备还遇到很多意料之外的问题。比如,施工高峰期恰逢斋月,根据当地传统,埃及工人白天休工。为了保证按期交工,蔡永平由从国内紧急调遣的200名中国工人,安排在白天施工,晚上再由埃及工人工作。在夏天则避开中午高温阶段,下午四点以后才开工。

最终,工程如期完成,并创下当地同类型项目建设周期最短的记录,尼罗河畔拉闸限电的日子从此成为过去。埃及电力与可再生能源部部长谢克尔对项目的建设标准和质量给予了高度肯定,认为“工程实施引进了中国先进的输电技术和理念,帮助改造了埃及现有的老旧电网,民众生活质量有了新的改变”。

作为“一带一路”倡议的重要组成部分,基础设施建设和互联互通是实施“一带一路”倡议的先导。重大基础设施工程的投资建设,将改变目前制约“一带一路”沿线国家深化合作的“薄弱环节”,为“一带一路”的经济合作带奠定基础。

作为合同总金额高达7.58亿美元的大型项目,中电装备亦面临着如何合理安排融资结构的现实问题。

中电装备总会计师杨果表示,中电装备的财务工作要服务于“一带一路”项目的开拓和工程建设的需要,并嵌入到业务开发和执行的过程中。在其看来,合理的融资架构的核心是符合项目进展的需求,能够使工程效率与效益皆能有效发挥。

“在项目开发过程中,我们要考虑融资结构和模式与项目的匹配性、融资的可行性,以及久期的安排等要素。还要看到一些隐性成本背后的风险和挑战,比如不同币种的合理选择和汇率风险,都要审慎地进行合理评判。”杨果表示。

据了解,中电装备的埃及项目初期,采用了与三家中资银行及中国出口信用保险公司合作的“三行一保”模式。同时,还与汇丰银行等国际金融机构展开合作。

为了更便捷地为中电装备提供融资服务,汇丰银行根据其生产经营、业务扩张、战略重点、本身财务和业务需求,对其进行总体授信,并为其配备了说中文的客户经理对接,让初来乍到埃及的中电装备没有语言隔阂。

在国内外多家金融机构的支持下,中电装备已成功运作了多种融资模式,满足了电网基础建设领域的不同合作模式,比如埃及项目是买贷模式,邻国的埃塞俄比亚GDHA500kV输变电项目则为卖贷模式。

汇丰银行(中国)有限公司(下称“汇丰中国”)副行长兼环球银行联席主管张文杰则表示,“一带一路”项目涉及的资金数目通常较大,拓展多元化的融资渠道对于满足“一带一路”项目的资金需求非常重要,中国企业应根据建设期和运营期等不同阶段,配置不同的融资模式来满足不同时期的需求。

随着中电装备EETC500千伏输电线路的推进,以及埃及国家复兴计划的实施,该国的输电网络建设已基本成熟,电力市场的需求度明显下降;而在欧洲本土银行零利率甚至负利率的现状下,埃及对多元化低成本的融资贷款需求日益增长。蔡永平介绍,目前埃及的大项目和紧急项目基本已告一段落,对低成本高质量短工期的工程的要求相对增加,市场化公开竞标的价格战激烈。中电装备亦面临转变市场策略,比如,针对业主的实际需求,如何通过挖掘能够体现国家电网的技术、经验优势的项目,逐渐向电网升级、效率提升和跨国联网等方面倾斜。

如今,沿着尼罗河这条世界上最长的河流,蔡永平与中电装备项目组的同事们,顺流而下,不断开拓新的市场。

埃及有句名言:“喝了尼罗河的水,你还要再来。”抽空回国休假的蔡永平,很快又要回到千里之外的尼罗河畔。这个春节,他依然没有机会和家人共度。

联系我们

工商金融服务热线

400 821 8878

此热线仅服务于工商金融客户,环球银行客户请直接联系客户服务经理。

 

立即留言

 


汇丰中国企业微信订阅号


用视野打破现有格局 用远见联结未来商机 扫描二维码立即关注。


 


汇丰中国企业微信服务号


方便快捷的在线银行服务,7X24智能客服,帮助企业客户实时掌握账户情况。
立即关注,开启在线银行之旅!


 


汇丰财资网手机客户端


苹果应用商店下载链接 百度应用商店下载链接(安卓手机)

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。