Supporting Rural Youth Entrepreneurship to Revive the Countryside

Empowering the present, sustaining the future

According to a recent statement by the State Council Leading Group Office of Poverty Alleviation and Development, China has won a defining victory in its fight against poverty, and by the end of 2020, all poor people in the country will be lifted out of poverty. To fulfill its corporate social responsibility, HSBC China has committed to enhancing employment and supporting eradication of poverty in the country. Since 2006, the bank has partnered with local poverty alleviation service centers to implement projects across a number of provinces and cities, supporting various vulnerable groups such as returning youths, poor farmers and rural left-behind women in starting their own businesses for higher income. Tan Jianping ("Ping") from Enping, Guangdong Province, is a successful example of rural youths returning to their hometown for entrepreneurship.

Ping was born in Gaotang VillageEnping, Guangdong Province. After graduating from junior high school, he left home to work in the cities like most of his peers from the village. After years of working away from home, Ping came up with the idea of returning to his hometown to start his own business. With the help of a joint project between HSBC China and Sichuan Haihui Poverty Alleviation Service Center, he went back to his home village and established the Gaotang Breeding Cooperative with like-minded fellow villagers, using technology to raise ducks and geese.

Ping’s ducklings and goslings are raised in an environment filled with light music. "They grow up listening to music. So they can gain weight in a relaxing environment and won’t be scared even when there’s noise outside." said the shy boy with a smile.

The Covid-19 outbreak caused significant fluctuations in the cost of baby poultries and feedstuff, and a sharp drop in market demand for ducks and geese. It became as a severe challenge for the fledgling cooperative. Fortunately, thanks to the cooperative’s reputation as a productive breeder, a local breeding company reached out to them and commit the cooperative to raise about 12,000 ducklings on its behalf, which compensated for their income loss during the pandemic.

"During the days of working away from home, I always dreamed that one day I could return to my hometown and contribute to its development together with my folks. Now my dream is gradually coming true. To be able to lead others on a journey towards shared prosperity gives me a lot of energy and confidence. I am convinced that as more hardworking young people come back to our hometown to start their own businesses, the village will become more and more prosperous." said Ping with emotions.

Over the past 15 years, HSBC China, together with its charity partners, has carried out poverty alleviation projects in five provinces in China to help local farmers boost their income by empowering them to develop various agricultural and livestock businesses. In total, the bank has donated more than RMB 40 million for poverty alleviation in China and helped nearly 9,000 farming households to reduce poverty and increase income, directly benefiting more than 10,000 farmers. In recognition of the bank’s multi-year contribution to the cause, HSBC was awarded, among other honors, "Top Contribution to Poverty Alleviation" by China Banking Association.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

支持返乡青年创业,建设繁荣新农村

助力现在,持续未来

中国国务院扶贫办最近表示,中国脱贫攻坚已经取得决定性成就,到今年年底,所有贫困人口会全部退出。作为其践行社会责任的重要一环,汇丰中国一直致力推动大众就业、支持全面脱贫。自2006年起,汇丰与国内助贫公益服务中心合作,在多个省市开展项目,支持返乡青年、贫困农户、乡村留守妇女等多个群体创业增收。广东恩平的谭健平 (“平仔”),就是其中一位成功的返乡青年创业者。

平仔出生于广东省恩平那吉镇高塘村,初中毕业后和村里大多数青年一样外出打工。在外闯荡多年之后,平仔萌生了回乡创业的想法。通过四川海惠助贫服务中心,在汇丰项目的支持下,返乡后的平仔与村里志同道合的伙伴共同成立了高塘村养殖合作社,运用科学技术饲养鸭鹅。

平仔养殖的鸭鹅苗是听着轻音乐长大的,腼腆的他笑着解释说,“它们听着音乐长大,可以安心长肉,听到外界的噪音也不会受到惊吓。”

受今年新冠疫情影响,仔苗、饲料的养殖成本波动很大、鸭鹅的市场需求剧减,这对刚起步的高塘合作社而言,挑战不小。幸运的是合作社凭借饲养能力积累了良好的声誉,当地的养殖公司伸出了援手,请合作社代养约12,000只鸭苗,从而弥补了疫情期间波动的收入。

“外出打工漂泊的日子里,我总想着有一天能返回家乡,与乡亲们一起推动家乡的发展。如今我在逐渐实现自己的愿望,带领大家致富,这让我充满干劲,心里也更踏实了。我深信,随着更多肯吃苦、愿意拼搏的年轻人返乡创业,村里的经济发展必定会蒸蒸日上”,平仔感慨地说。

十五年来,汇丰中国携手公益合作伙伴,在国内5个省份开展扶贫项目,不断提升农户发展各类农畜产业的能力,促进他们的收入增长。汇丰在产业扶贫领域共计捐赠超过人民币4,000万元,帮助近9,000家农户实现脱贫增收,逾万农民直接受益。因多年来在扶贫领域的持续贡献,汇丰荣获了中国银行业协会颁发的“最佳公益扶贫贡献奖”等荣誉。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。