Promoting Sustainable Palm Oil
for Green Supply Chain

Supporting Ecological Conservation

The 2020 China Sustainable Palm Oil Supply Chain Forum and the 4th RSPO China Forum, supported by HSBC China and some other companies and organisations, was successfully held in Suzhou to support ecological conservation and encourage purchase and consumption of sustainable palm oil among more Chinese companies and consumers.

Co-hosted by the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO), China Chamber of Commerce of Import and Export of Foodstuffs, Native Produce and Animal By-products, and WWF Beijing Office, the forum featured constructive discussions on sustainable palm oil sourcing and its impact on the green supply chain. By promoting the use of sustainable palm oil among businesses, the forum aims to contribute to green transformation of the country's palm oil market so as to achieve the goal of protecting the ecological environment and making the earth greener.

“As the world's second largest importer of palm oil, China plays an important role in driving a global shift towards sustainable palm oil. HSBC is committed to popularizing the concept of sustainable palm oil adoption in China by maintaining communication and collaboration with NGOs, trade associations, businesses and consumers. We believe that with joint efforts of all sectors of society, purchasing and consuming sustainable palm oil will become a new normal in China." said Ying Wang, Head of Corporate Sustainability, HSBC Bank (China) Limited

Palm oil is now the second most consumed vegetable oil in the country after soybean oil. It is widely present in everyday products such as ice cream, chocolate, cookies, skin care products and hair shampoo. However, the growing demand for palm oil and its unsustainable production has led to excessive deforestation, endangering the ecosystem and the survival of wildlife.

According to the WWF, an average size of 460 soccer fields of forest and peatland were used every day globally to plant palm trees for palm oil in the decade between 2005 and 2015 alone. The destruction of tropical rainforests due to palm cultivation has resulted in the gradual loss of habitat for many species of wildlife.

In order to reduce environmental hazards, some organisations jointly launched the China Sustainable Palm Oil Alliance in 2018 with the objective of promoting growth and production of sustainable palm oil products in ways that do not harm the natural environment. As a founding member of the alliance, HSBC China is working with over 50 key players across the palm oil value chain to promote wider adoption of sustainable palm oil in the business community and contribute to the management and development of green supply chain in China. In addition to providing support to the Forum for three consecutive years, the bank has also partnered with NGOs to conduct a number of awareness campaigns to help Chinese consumers understand the benefits of using sustainable palm oil.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

推广可持续棕榈油,
打造绿色供应链

支持生态环境保护

为支持生态环境保护、推动更多中国企业和消费者采购和使用可持续棕榈油,由汇丰中国等企业和机构支持的“2020中国可持续棕榈油供应链论坛暨第四届RSPO中国论坛”在苏州成功举行。

论坛由可持续棕榈油圆桌倡议组织(RSPO)、中国食品土畜进出口商会、世界自然基金会(瑞士)北京代表处共同主办,就可持续棕榈油采购及其对绿色供应链的影响等展开了建设性的讨论。通过倡导企业采用可持续棕榈油,推动中国棕榈油市场的绿色转型,从而实现保护生态体系、让地球变绿的目标。

汇丰银行(中国)有限公司企业可持续发展总监王颖表示:“作为全球第二大棕榈油进口国,中国在推动可持续棕榈油全球市场转型中发挥着重要的作用。汇丰与公益组织、中国行业协会、企业和消费者等群体保持沟通与协作,致力于在国内传播采用可持续棕榈油的理念。我们相信,在社会各界的共同努力下,采购和使用可持续棕榈油将成为中国市场的常态。”

棕榈油目前成为国内仅次于大豆油的第二大植物油消费品种,很多日常生活中无处不在的商品中都含有棕榈油的成分,诸如冰淇淋、巧克力、饼干、护肤品、洗发水等。然而,对棕榈油不断增长的需求和不可持续的生产导致了森林的过度砍伐,危害了生态环境和野生动物的生存。

根据世界自然基金会的数据显示,仅仅在2005年至2015年这十年间,全球平均每天就有460片足球场大小的森林和泥炭地被用来种植可以提取棕榈油的油棕树。油棕种植导致热带雨林遭受的破坏,使多种野生动物逐渐丧失赖以生存的栖息地。

为了减少对环境的危害,相关组织在2018年发起了“中国可持续棕榈油倡议”,推进采用以不危害天然环境的方式进行种植和生产的可持续棕榈油。作为该倡议发起成员之一,汇丰中国与超过五十家棕榈油价值链上的主要参与者合作,推动更多企业采用可持续棕榈油,促进国内绿色供应链的管理和发展。除了连续三年为在中国举办的论坛提供支持,汇丰中国还携手公益组织开展多项消费者宣传活动,让国内消费者了解到使用可持续棕榈油的益处。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。