Workers gained confidence since acquiring financial knowledge

The story of financial literacy education for construction workers involved in “Belt and Road Initiative” projects

 

 

Cheng Zhongde is a Safety Officer on a construction site. In 2009 when he moved to Jiangsu from his hometown Sichuan, he was almost penniless. His parents were in their 80s and his two kids were still at school. As the only breadwinner in the family, he left his hometown to work in a construction site that is totally foreign for him.

In 2014, a friend approached him and said there was an investment project from which he can make lots of money, which is at least RMB 9.8 million . As he’s trying to make a quick buck, he trusted them and invested tens of thousands borrowed from relatives and friends. At the end, he found the investment project illegal.

There are many construction workers like him on the construction sites of “Belt and Road Initiative” projects. As these projects usually last for a long time and they are thrown into a more enclosed environment than general engineering projects, they’re likely to fall prey to financial frauds due to poor financial literacy.

Targeting at construction workers on the “Belt and Road Initiative” projects, the financial literacy programme supported by HSBC helped construction workers to enhance their financial knowledge and protect their earnings by holding financial knowledge training workshops, developing financial sitcoms with NGOs and etc.

After attending these training sessions, Cheng Zhongde mastered basic financial knowledge and started to realise that there is no free lunch, and that he needs to keep his feet on the ground to make money.

Furthermore, HSBC funded and developed over a dozen financial education courses designed for elderlies in local communities, students, young people in rural areas and other groups. From 2005 to present, HSBC has launched more than 40 public financial education programmes all over mainland China, with a total investment of over 220 million RMB. These endeavors have benefited more than 1 million people and promoted benign development of the society to fuel sustainable economic growth and sustainable social development.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

自从掌握金融知识,工人们心里踏实不少

“一带一路”工程项目建设者普及金融知识的故事

 

 

程仲德,是建筑工地上的一位安全员。2009年,他刚从四川老家搬到江苏,几乎没有积蓄。家里有八十多岁的父母需要赡养,两个小孩要读书,全家的担子都落在他的肩上。于是他满载家人的期待,离开了家乡,来到了工地上,投入到一个陌生的环境当中。

2014年的时候,有朋友介绍了一个投资的项目,说是能够挣大钱,最少也能挣980万。急于赚钱的他,轻易自然就相信了。跟亲戚朋友借钱,东拼西凑投资了好几万,后来才发现这个投资项目不合法。

在“一带一路”项目上,因为工期长,环境也比城市的普通工程更封闭,和他遇到一样情况的建筑工人并不少见。这些建设者们很可能会因为金融知识薄弱因为不了解真实信息,盲从轻信从而进入误入迷途。

汇丰参与的“一带一路”项目建设者金融知识普及计划,通过举办公益金融教育讲座,帮助建设者们增长金融知识,保护他们的辛勤所得。以及联合公益组织创作生动的情景剧,以喜闻乐见的方式,帮助建设者们增长金融知识,保护他们的辛勤所得。

为了让金融知识更加深入人心,汇丰还联合公益组织创作了生动的情景剧,以喜闻乐见的方式,让观众们感同身受

程仲德参加了这些培训后, 掌握了金融知识,不再再不相信天上会掉馅饼,还是应该脚踏实地的工作赚钱。

除此之外,汇丰还资助开发了十多个金融教育课程,面向社区长者、学生、村镇青年等不同人群。2005年至今,汇丰启动了超过40个公益金融教育项目,遍布中国内地,总投入逾2.2亿元。这一切的努力,使得上百万人从中受益,同时也促进了社会的良性发展,助力经济的持续繁荣和社会的可持续发展。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。