Country GuideMalaysia

From Global Connections

Malaysia is the fifth largest recipient of foreign direct investment (FDI) inflows in the world, in accordance with the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) 2015 World Investment Report. In 2015, FDI inflows into Malaysia reached RM39.5 billion, 11.8 per cent higher than that recorded for 2014.

Malaysia ranked 18th in the World Bank's 2016 Doing Business rankings, falling one place from 17th in the year prior. This puts Malaysia as the second easiest country to do business among the ASEAN nations, behind only Singapore. The rankings recognised a number of reforms enacted in 2015 which made doing business easier. This included making paying taxes easier and less costly for companies by making electronic filing mandatory and reducing the property tax rate. Nevertheless, at the same time, Malaysia also increased the capital gains tax.

Key facts about starting a business in Malaysia:

  • It takes, on average, three procedures and four days to start a new business in Malaysia; this process is detailed in the Doing Business in chapter
  • The processing fee for an employment pass application is RM125, and the fees for the pass itself are up to RM300 per annum; employment regulations are discussed in detail in the Labour chapter
  • Submitting and obtaining development approval through the One Stop Centre (OSC) for a construction permit takes approximately 30 days and costs MYR3,180
  • Foreign companies operating in Malaysia must file statutory financial statements annually to the Registrar of Companies within two months of their AGM; further details can be found in the Audit chapter
  • Companies that wish to list securities on the Bursa Malaysia can choose between the Main Market; for companies with a profit track record of three to five financial years or the ACE Market, for companies from all business sectors with promising growth potential; this is discussed further in the Finance chapter

Malaysia's attractiveness as an investment location can be attributed to a number of factors, including its liberal investment policy and abundant natural resources. Nevertheless, in order to make an informed decision, it is critical to understand the nuances of any local regime. The manner in which people conduct business in Malaysia may differ from the home countries of investors. Furthermore, variations on these distinctions may exist depending on the industry in which a company operates.

Malaysia's official language is Malay, officially known as Bahasa Malaysia. Hierarchy is central to Malaysian business culture. Business attire is conservative. A handshake is the typical business greeting and will be used at the beginning and end of a meeting. Punctuality is expected. Business cards will usually be presented after initial introductions. Gift giving is not expected as part of business interactions.

Those looking to establish a business in Malaysia may look across Southeast Asia for alternative options. However, Malaysia can be differentiated on the following factors:

  • Malaysia has the third largest economy in Southeast Asia, after Indonesia and Thailand; GDP grew at a rate of five per cent in 2015
  • Malaysia has an abundance of natural resources, including palm oil, rubber, oil and gas
  • Malaysia offers a wide range of tax incentives for manufacturing projects; this is further detailed in the Tax chapter
  • Ranked 10th in the world for the quality of its transport infrastructure; further details can be found in the Infrastructure chapter
  • Free industrial zones offer a number of incentives for export-oriented industries, including duty-free imports of raw materials; discussed further in the Trade chapter

While there are significant opportunities for investment in Malaysia, a number of challenges remain. One of the key issues facing companies is a shortage of skilled workers. This has become evident across industries such as logistics, manufacturing and agriculture.

This guide has been developed to provide businesses with an overview of Malaysia, its Legal regime, start-up and market entry considerations, tax and customs requirements and a general summary of the factors that may affect the decision to do business in Malaysia. However, the information contained in this document is generic in nature and you should not act or rely on it without obtaining specific professional advice.

Please note that the Country Guides may only be available in English.

Useful Links

1 Companies Commission of Malaysia
2 Inland Revenue Board of Malaysia
3 Royal Malaysian Customs Department
4 Immigration Department of Malaysia
5 Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia
6 Department of Personal Data Protection
7 Malaysian Investment Development Authority
8 Ministry of Human Resources

 

Sources

1 FDI Statistics
2 Doing Business Rankings
3 Employment Pass Application
4 Malaysia Economy
5 Transport infrastructure

 

Download Country Guide - Malaysia (2.62MB, PDF)

Disclaimer

This document is issued by HSBC Bank Malaysia Berhad (Company No 127776-V) (the Bank). This guide is a joint project with Grant Thornton. It is not intended as an offer or solicitation for business to anyone in any jurisdiction. It is not intended for distribution to anyone located in or resident in jurisdictions which restrict the distribution of this document. It shall not be copied, reproduced, transmitted or further distributed by any recipient. The information contained in this document is of a general nature only. It is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without obtaining specific professional advice. Whilst every care has been taken in preparing this document, the Bank and Grant Thornton makes no guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness, and under no circumstances will the Bank or Grant Thornton be liable for any loss caused by reliance on any opinion or statement made in this document. Except as specifically indicated, the expressions of opinion are those of the Bank and are subject to change without notice. The materials contained in this document were assembled in January 2016 and were based on the law enforceable and information available at that time.

Grant Thornton refers to the brand under which the Grant Thornton member firms provide assurance, tax and advisory services to their clients and/or refers to one or more member firms, as the context requires. Grant Thornton International Ltd (GTIL) and its member firms are not a worldwide partnership. GTIL and each member firm is a separate legal entity. Services are delivered by the member firms. GTIL does not provide services to clients. GTIL and its member firms are not agents of, and do not obligate, one another and are not liable for one another’s acts or omissions. This publication has been prepared only as a guide. No responsibility can be accepted by GTIL for loss occasioned to any person acting or refraining from acting as a result of any material in this publication.

HSBC retains all responsibility for the translation of the content of this guide. In the event of any discrepancy or inconsistency between the English and translated versions of this Guide, the English version shall apply and prevail.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

国家指南马来西亚

来自 Global Connections

根据联合国贸发会议 (UNCTAD) 的《2015年世界投资报告》,马来西亚是全球第五大外商直接投资 (FDI) 接受国。 2015 年流入马来西亚的FDI达到395亿令吉,较2014年的录得值高11.8%。

马来西亚在2016年世界银行经商环境榜上列第18位,与上一年度的第17位相比下降一位。 这使得马来西亚仅次于新加坡,成为第二便利经商的东盟国家。 该排名认可了2015年为改善经商环境所做的一些改革。 这包括通过强制实施电子备案以及降低物业税率,使公司缴税更方便、负担更轻。 然而,与此同时,马来西亚提高了资本利得税。

有关在马来西亚创办公司的关键信息:

  • 平均而言,需要3道手续和4天就能在马来西亚创办一家新公司;具体流程详见境内营商章节
  • 就业许可证申请的处理费为125令吉,而许可证本身的费用高达每年300令吉;有关雇佣法规的论述,请见劳工章节
  • 通过一站式服务中心 (OSC) 申请和获授建筑施工许可证约需30天,费用为3,180马来西亚令吉
  • 在马来西亚经营的外国公司必须每年于年度股东大会后两个月内向公司注册处提交法定财务报表;具体内容详见审计章节
  • 希望在马来西亚股票交易所挂牌上市有价证券的公司可在主板市场(适合之前三到五个财年盈利的公司)和 ACE 市场(适合具有成长潜力的各行业公司)之间选择;更多论述,请见金融章节

马来西亚作为投资目的地的吸引力可以归因于若干因素,其中包括其自由的投资政策及丰富的自然资源。 然而,请务必了解各地体制的细微差别,以作出明智的决策。 在马来西亚的经商方式可能与投资者的母国有所不同。 此外,这些差异还视企业经营的具体行业而有所变化。

马来西亚的官方语言为马来语(官方称作 Bahasa Malaysia)。 等级阶层是马来西亚商业文化的核心。 商务着装需正式。 握手是典型的商务致意方式,在会面开始和结束时使用。 应当守时。 通常会在初次引见后呈递名片。 赠送礼物并非商务交往过程中的惯例。

希望在马来西亚建立企业的人士可了解其他东南亚洲国家,以寻觅替代方案。 然而,马来西亚会在下列方面比较突出:

  • 马来西亚是东南亚第三大经济体,位居印度尼西亚和泰国之后; 2015年,其国内生产总值增长率为5%
  • 马来西亚拥有富饶的自然资源,包括棕榈油、橡胶及石油天然气
  • 马来西亚为制造业项目提供多种多样的税收优惠政策;更多内容详见税务章节
  • 在交通基础设施质量方面,列全球第10位;更多详情,请见基础设施章节
  • 自由工业区为出口导向型产业提供一些激励措施,包括原材料的免关税进口;更多论述,请见贸易章节

虽然马来西亚提供重大投资机会,但也存在一些挑战。 企业面临的一个关键问题是技术工人短缺。 此问题在诸如物流、制造业和农业等产业中尤其明显。

本指南旨在为企业提供马来西亚概览及其法律制度、创办企业和进入市场考虑因素、税收和海关规定,并总结了可能影响在马来西亚经商决策的各类因素。 但是,本文件所含信息具有通用性,因此在未获得具体的专业意见之前,请勿根据本文件所包含的信息行事。

请注意,《国家指南》可能仅提供英文版本。

实用链接

1 马来西亚公司监管委员会
2 马来西亚税务局
3 马来西亚皇家海关总署
4 马来西亚移民部
5 马来西亚知识产权署
6 个人数据保护部
7 马来西亚投资发展局
8 人力资源部

 

资料来源

1 外商直接投资统计
2 经商环境榜
3 就业许可证申请
4 马来西亚经济
5 交通基础设施

 

下载国家指南(英文版)- 马来西亚 (2.62MB, PDF)

免责声明

此文件由汇丰银行马来西亚有限公司(公司编号:127776-V;以下简称为“银行”)编制。 本文件是我们与致同会计师事务所 (Grant Thornton) 合作的项目指南,       不以向任何辖区的任何个人提供商机或进行商业游说为目的,    也不以向任何位于或居住于限制本文件发行辖区的个人传播为目的。    任何收件人均不可对本文件进行复印、复制、发送或进一步传播。  本文件所包含的信息只具一般性, 不具全面综合性,也不构成金融、法律、税务或其他专业性的意见。    在未获得具体的专业意见之前,请勿根据本文件所包含的信息行事。 尽管在起草本文件时,我们已尽可能注意每个细节,以确保所有信息来源可靠,但是银行和致同会计师事务所并不保证、代表或保障(包括明示或暗示)其精确性和完整性或因此承担任何责任;在任何情况下,银行或致同会计师事务所均不为因以本文件中的任何意见或声明为依据而造成的任何损失承担责任。       除了特别指出以外, 本文所述意见均为银行的意见,并且可能随时在无事先通知的情况下变更其内容。 本文所含材料于2016年1月,根据当时实施的法律和可用的信息汇总编制。
致同会计师事务所 (Grant Thornton) 为特定品牌,其品牌成员公司为他们的客户提供保障、税务和咨询服务;并且/或者指一个或多个成员公司,具体根据情况而定。 致同会计师事务所国际有限公司 (GTIL) 与其成员公司并无全球合作伙伴关系。    GTIL及其成员公司各自均为独立法人, 服务由其成员公司提供。 GTIL并不向客户提供服务。 GTIL及其成员公司不是彼此的代理,彼此间无强制性义务,不为彼此的行为或疏忽承担责任。 本出版物只是提供一个指南。 GTIL不为任何人依据本出版物的任何材料行事或不行事而带来的后果而承担责任。
汇丰银行保留翻译本指南内容的所有责任。    如本指南英文版与翻译版本存在任何差异或不一致,应以英文版为准。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。